Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

WAKE UP!

Wednesday, Sept. 10, 2008 - 10:02 p.m.

Numbers 10:35 b Rise up, LORD, and let thine enemies be scattered; and let them that hate thee flee before thee.

From: K-House eNews For The Week Of September 09, 2008

A Wake Up Call

It seems most Americans have closed their eyes to the challenges facing our nation. Former British Prime Minister Tony Blair once aptly stated that: "September 11 for me was a wake up call. Do you know what I think the problem is? That a lot of the world woke up for a short time and then turned over and went back to sleep again."

It has been observed that nations and empires have "life cycles." This has been studied by many historians throughout the years and most have come to the same conclusion: a lifetime of about two centuries. And they all seem to go through the same life cycle: "from bondage to spiritual faith; from spiritual faith to great courage; from courage to liberty; from liberty to abundance; from abundance to complacency; from complacency to apathy; from apathy to dependency; from dependence back again into bondage (Alexander Tyler, 1750)."

Where are we in this cycle? We, too, have gone from bondage to spiritual faith; from faith to great courage which established our precious liberty, which, in turn, has given us unprecedented abundance that has made us the envy of the world. That abundance, however, has led to complacency and apathy. Ask almost anyone, "What is the biggest problem in America? Is it ignorance or is it apathy?" They are likely to answer, "I don't know and I don't care!"

This apathy will ultimately lead to dependency and then return us to the very bondage that this nation was founded to deliver us from. Robert Bork was right when he said that, "the only hope for America is a grass roots revival." Is America ripe for judgment? Billy Graham quipped many years ago, "If God doesn't judge America He will have to apologize to Sodom and Gomorrah!" Likewise, Thomas Jefferson summed it up when he said: "I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; and that His justice cannot sleep forever."

This year, on the anniversary of September 11, pray for our nation, pray for our leaders, pray for revival, pray for our enemies, and pray for guidance and correction in your own life.

For more on this subject, check out Avi Lipkins briefing titled Sleeping In America: The Secret War.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Isaiah 12:2 Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the LORD JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation.

Mark 11:24 Therefore I say unto you, What things soever ye desire, when ye pray, believe that ye receive them, and ye shall have them.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!
Sound Advice: The noise you tune out when �mama� is giving direction!
~Anonymous~
~~~

May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 2 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com