Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

NUMBERING

Monday, Jan. 21, 2008 - 10:35 a.m.

Several years ago I was introduced to a group of people who met on Sunday night after their church service, in different homes each week. They asked me to teach them about gifts of the spirit, etc. I prayed asking the Lord to show me what he wanted me to do. He let me know that he opened the door for me and that He would bless the gatherings as long as I didn�t count the number the people attending. This group was about 50 miles east of my home and I never got very close to the group as individuals. I impressed upon them that the Lord would bless as long as we were faithful to Him and never made a count of participants. We would go to a different home each week and we were always packed out but no one was ever turned away. The homes were of different sizes but the Lord drew just the right number of folks each time.

I experienced many miracles during my time with that group. The Lord really blessed them and we all learned a lot about the scriptures. Several of the folks in the group decided that it was time for them to start their own church, purchase a building, vote in a pastor, etc. They met several times during the week and began to start a roster of the families that wanted to be a part of the new church.

I gave them the words the Lord had given me and told them that I was not to be a pastor of that church and that since they had numbered the members I could no longer be a part of the group. We parted under good terms. I went to visit the church about a year later and they seemed to be doing ok. Several years later I returned to the church and there was just one family of the original flock still attending.


David was rebuked for his disobedience in numbering his kingdom and was punished greatly for it.

1 Chronicles 21:1 And Satan stood up against Israel, and provoked David to number Israel.

David gave the order to his first in command, Joab. (1 Chronicles 21:3) Joab told David that the Lord provided them the power of a hundred times the number he had on the battle field, why would he ask for a census. David told him to do it anyway�

Joab did and 1 Chronicles 21:7 And God was displeased with this thing; therefore he smote Israel.

I have wondered why the Lord didn�t want David to take a census or why the group I became leader was not supposed number the members. I believe I have at least part of the idea now. I believe the Lord teaches us just like we teach our children, and we must put our trust in Him before he can take us to the next step. We need to learn to lean on him. That does not mean that we do nothing. It means that we put our endeavors in His hand and trust Him to give us the knowledge, wisdom, strength, and ability to do the job without questioning our own abilities. I know that I do not of my self have the ability to teach or to articulate the meanings of many things. The Holy Spirit has been the teacher of any knowledge transferred to others. I was only the vessel that carried the Word forth. It is not the dipper that quenches the thirst or wets the lips, it is the liquid the dipper holds!


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Psalms 18:2-3 The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower. I will call upon the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Helen Keller said, �Keep your face in the sunshine and you cannot see the shadows.� This inspires a play on words, �Keep your face toward the Son and the shadows will fade!�


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com