Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

NOT SO DIFFERENT!

Thursday, Sept. 20, 2007 - 7:52 p.m.

I was amused when covering the first few verses of 2 Samuel 7� King David had been through a lot but The Lord had taken care of things for him and he was really happy the Lord had done this. So he went up to his Minister of the Gospel (at that time) and offered to build a fabulous House of God. As almost any minister of today the answer was automatically in the affirmative� I don�t know if (Rev.) Nathan saw dollar signs in the sky like many Reverends of today do but none the less he made his affirmative statement without asking the Lord.

2 Samuel 7:1-3 (KJV) And it came to pass, when the king sat in his house, and the LORD had given him rest round about from all his enemies; That the king said unto Nathan the prophet, See now, I dwell in an house of cedar, but the ark of God dwelleth within curtains. And Nathan said to the king, Go, do all that is in thine heart; for the LORD is with thee.

When Nathan, the current Minister of the Gospel, got around to talking to God about everything the Lord told him that he had to go and recant on his offer to build the new House of God.

2 Samuel 7:4-8a (KJV) And it came to pass that night, that the word of the LORD came unto Nathan, saying, Go and tell my servant David, Thus saith the LORD, Shalt thou build me an house for me to dwell in? Whereas I have not dwelt in any house since the time that I brought up the children of Israel out of Egypt, even to this day, but have walked in a tent and in a tabernacle. In all the places wherein I have walked with all the children of Israel spake I a word with any of the tribes of Israel, whom I commanded to feed my people Israel, saying, Why build ye not me an house of cedar?

I believe the Lord was telling Nathan and David that He was with them always in the same state they were in. They lived in tents so His place was in tents. I think He was trying to impress that He had not set Himself above out of reach from everyone who believed and trusted Him. Jesus was the same way� He came and walked the streets and by ways just like the common man did in those times. He made Himself approach able to all who wanted Him.

The next thing of importance in this text continues from here.

2 Samuel 7:8b-9 (KJV) Now therefore so shalt thou say unto my servant David, Thus saith the LORD of hosts, I took thee from the sheepcote, from following the sheep, to be ruler over my people, over Israel: And I was with thee whithersoever thou wentest, and have cut off all thine enemies out of thy sight, and have made thee a great name, like unto the name of the great men that are in the earth.

Nice walk down memory lane! Now the thing that has the world in an uproar today! The covenant with David:

2 Samuel 7:10- KJV) Moreover I will appoint a place for my people Israel, and will plant them, that they may dwell in a place of their own, and move no more; neither shall the children of wickedness afflict them any more, as beforetime, And as since the time that I commanded judges to be over my people Israel, and have caused thee to rest from all thine enemies. Also the LORD telleth thee that he will make thee an house. And when thy days be fulfilled, and thou shalt sleep with thy fathers, I will set up thy seed after thee, which shall proceed out of thy bowels, and I will establish his kingdom. He shall build an house for my name, and I will stablish the throne of his kingdom for ever. I will be his father, and he shall be my son. If he commit iniquity, I will chasten him with the rod of men, and with the stripes of the children of men: But my mercy shall not depart away from him, as I took it from Saul, whom I put away before thee. And thine house and thy kingdom shall be established for ever before thee: thy throne shall be established for ever.

Folks, the Lord is not through with Israel, the Jews, His chosen people, and they who call upon His name. The last time I checked, the words �FOR EVER� meant that will be a long long time after what we see here on this earth is gone. If you say that the Jews have been replaced you should check the scripture� because you just might be calling God a liar� I trust that everyone should know that would be not in their best interest!

BLESS THE LORD OH MY SOUL AND ALL THAT IS WITH IN ME, every iota of dust, moisture, soul, spirit, body, mind, and anything else that I don�t know about: I command you to BLESS THE HOLY NAME OF JESUS!


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Luke 6:36-38 (KJV) Be ye therefore merciful, as your Father also is merciful. Judge not, and ye shall not be judged: condemn not, and ye shall not be condemned: forgive, and ye shall be forgiven: Give, and it shall be given unto you; good measure, pressed down, and shaken together, and running over, shall men give into your bosom. For with the same measure that ye mete withal it shall be measured to you again.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

How is love and age alike? Well, for one, you can�t hide either of them!


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 3 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com