Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

NOT GOOD TO PEEVE YOUR OWN MEN:

Thursday, Sept. 13, 2007 - 3:10 p.m.

While David and his 600 men had gain favor with the Philistines, they were settled in a community of their own. The king of the Philistine was preparing to go to war against King Saul and the Israelites. This placed David and company in a precarious position. Do they war against their own people and be loyal to those who became friends and gave them asylum? David chose to be loyal to his new found friends and marched his men to the firing line. The king of the Philistines felt that it would not be a good idea for them to join them in the battles and sent them back home.

When they got back to their abode they found that another enemy, the Amalekites, had burned their city and had taken all of their women and children and possessions. As you can see, this resulted in a gross morale problem among the troops.

1 Samuel 30:6 (KJV) And David was greatly distressed; for the people spake of stoning him, because the soul of all the people was grieved (bitter), every man for his sons and for his daughters: but David encouraged himself in the LORD his God.

The Lord was truly his protecter this time. David and his company set out to find the Amalekites. The rest of the story is much like many of the modern day sagas of the old west. Makes you wonder if maybe the story writers of the modern �Oaters� did their research for their stories in the Bible. Back to the point� The Lord protects his people even when they mess up or blunder. Sure they, or I should say we, will feel some negative effects to our unwise decisions, but He still keeps us from tragic harm.

How blessed is this our King of King and Lord of Lords, our Savior, Redeemer, the Prince of Peace, yes our Almighty God is He! Praise the name of Jesus!


Note: I had not looked to see todays verse until I had already finished the above!

VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

2 Sam 22:3-7 (KJV) The God of my rock; in him will I trust: he is my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my high tower, and my refuge, my saviour; thou savest me from violence. I will call on the LORD, who is worthy to be praised: so shall I be saved from mine enemies. When the waves of death compassed me, the floods of ungodly men made me afraid; The sorrows of hell compassed me about; the snares of death prevented me; In my distress I called upon the LORD, and cried to my God: and he did hear my voice out of his temple, and my cry did enter into his ears.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Nothing succeeds like success!


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 3 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com