Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

DOWN IN THE DUMPS:

Thursday, Sept. 13, 2007 - 1:09 a.m.

We have the tendency to think of David, King David, as a mighty man of valor! That is a good assessment of him, however there were times he was really down in the dumps. He went into despair several times. One such time was recorded here in 1 Samuel:

1 Samuel 27:1 (KJV) And David said in his heart, I shall now perish one day by the hand of Saul: there is nothing better for me than that I should speedily escape into the land of the Philistines; and Saul shall despair of me, to seek me any more in any coast of Israel: so shall I escape out of his hand.

Even when he was running for his and his men�s lives the Lord used him. Through the event of him going into enemy territory the result was much pressure on King Saul. Saul had become such a disappointment to the Lord that the Lord would not send him anymore guidance� This put Saul into desperation. He went as far as to go to an illegal witch to try to get an answer from the Late Samuel.

Making a long story shorter� Saul ended up swallowing his own sword without using his mouth.

The Lord pulled David out of his exile and placed him on the throne.

David did not see what the Lord was doing on His side of the situation. He reacted to his own knowledge and fear and ran. Yes he could have taken the life of Saul himself at least twice but he was loyal to the throne and refused to do it. Yes I would say that takes a real man of valor to do that. I know that it is not uncommon to have a great deal of distain toward our number one leader in this country from time to time. Also in this day and age we have the media really doing the job of the �Nabal�s� and churning anything they can to negate or denounce our President. I once told my nephew that if he wanted to make changes in the politics of our country that he should go into journalism. To be frank about it, I am glad he did not adhere to that bit of wisdom. True the statement was correct but the effects it would have had on his inquisitive mind might have been quite destructive. I know that in some colleges they teach courses on how to twist words around to make people that what is being said is the opposite of what was meant when it was said by the author.

Attorneys all take such curriculum as to reporters and others. It all boils down to the fact that a person can not believe anything they hear or read about. One must have discernment at all times and by all means investigate all possibilities. The court system in this country has really left a lot to be desired. A flaw in something I seen and a knee jerk reaction to correct that flaw will come into law and the result does more harm as the slick shyster lawyers turn and twist the meaning of the law. This sequence filters down into the various levels of management of the government system and effects the production of the employees of the system. The person who gives the job their all seems to be shifted by the way side and the person who buddies up with the brass excel promotion-wise. The person who gives his all will get discouraged and just give up, start goofing off, etc. They do not like what the job has made of them because to work in such a manner is against their own morals. Yet, why work your tail off if you are not going to get credit or are denounced for it?

All I can add to that is Praise Jesus; I have two six-months vacations in a row each year� even at half pay that is a real blessing.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Joel 2:27-28 (NIV) Then you will know that I am in Israel, that I am the LORD your God, and that there is no other; never again will my people be shamed. 'And afterward, I will pour out my Spirit on all people. Your sons and daughters will prophesy, your old men will dream dreams, your young men will see visions.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

�Oh how painful it is to access our own troubles and realize that they are result of our own doing and not that of anyone else�s!�
~Anonymous~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com