Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

RAMBLING:

Wednesday, May. 23, 2007 - 1:09 p.m.

I don�t remember much about the day I was born. I was told that there was not much different in the way I was born from everyone else. I couldn�t communicate, crawl, walk, etc. My older sisters, mom and dad were always trying to get me to learn something new like crawl, walk, and talk. It took me some time to accomplish these things. They would, for instance in learning walk, hold me up and get me take a step or two and then turn loose with out my realizing it and I would take steps until I realized that I was doing it on my own. I know you have seen this happen with other children. Ok so what is my point?

Well when we are born-again in the spirit we need to go through the same process of growing up. The Lord holds us up but as we learn more we begin to stand on our own spiritual feet. With the help of the Holy Spirit we grow more confident. As it is with the physical life so it is with the spiritual� there is always room to learn more growth.

When the Apostle Paul became born-again he went into the desert for three years studied and was taught by the Holy Spirit before he went to Peter for fifteen days. Then he started his ministry. Back in those days there was no Bible College to teach them about Jesus. I understand they did have schools to teach the Old Testament and such. But they were not in tune with the Holy Spirit or the knowledge of the salvation paid for by Jesus. That means that all of the New Testament ministers had to rely on what the Holy Spirit taught them or the teachings that Jesus gave them the three years before the Cross. I sometimes wonder if it would be better to forgo the seminary training and just go into the desert like Paul did and let the Holy Spirit teach us. So many teachers have pushed the bounds of truth out of proportion. Much of the doctrine taught today has a truth basis but is taught with the wrong emphasis is some area. Like the gospel of prosperity� the Lord does want us to prosper and He wants us to give. And His word says that we will receive back more than is given even to a hundred fold. However, if your purpose of giving is to get rich, you have the wrong motives and you will suffer for it.

~~~

Memory verse for today:

(Proverbs 21:21 KJV) He that followeth after righteousness and mercy findeth life, righteousness, and honour.

Another thought:

Letting the cat out of the bag is a whole lot easier than putting it back in the bag!


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com