Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

SWORD

Thursday, Jan. 24, 2008 - 6:17 p.m.

We are in a spiritual battle at all times. But if we are not prepared then we will suffer defeats. Not lose the war just the scrimmage. We need to keep our �sWord� sharpened and ready for action.

Hebrews 5:10-14 Called of God an high priest after the order of Melchisedec. Of whom we have many things to say, and hard to be uttered, seeing ye are dull of hearing. For when for the time ye ought to be teachers, ye have need that one teach you again which be the first principles of the oracles of God; and are become such as have need of milk, and not of strong meat. For every one that useth milk is unskilful in the word of righteousness: for he is a babe. But strong meat belongeth to them that are of full age, even those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.

Summed up in short, �GROW UP!� Many Christians have never been weaned from the udder. How can you expect youngsters to do battle in the real conflict if they are still sucking on the udder?

I know that we get so involved in our daily endeavor to put grub on the table that we slide by on the feeding of our spiritual selves with the Word of God. We realize this and set up regiments to follow� i.e. so many chapters a day, etc. This is a good start but soon becomes a drudgery to complete and the mind is not on what is being read. The words go in and out of our spiritual ears and very little remains for ingestion. Maybe I am just talking about my self, but I believe it is more common than that.

I am not sure just what the pill to take for that is but it seems that maybe just stopping what we are doing and putting our total self; thoughts, mind, emotion, concerns, body, et.al. into the Lord. Get away from all interruptions, and meditate only in the Lord and His wonderful beam of glory.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Isaiah 41:10 Fear thou not; for I am with thee: be not dismayed; for I am thy God: I will strengthen thee; yea, I will help thee; yea, I will uphold thee with the right hand of my righteousness.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

'It has been said that politics is the second oldest profession. I have learned that it bears a striking resemblance to the first.'
~Ronald Reagan~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!


previous - next - 5 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com