Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

MIRROR, MIRROR!

Tuesday, Dec. 04, 2007 - 5:22 p.m.

Mirror, mirror in the Book;
Show me my sins when on thee I look!

The Law of Moses has been described as a mirror to show us what is sin. The Apoltle Paul has expounded on this in many of his writings. The book of Romans has much about the difference between living under the Law and living under grace and mercy. Grace is not having to pay for what we deserve. Mercy is not getting what we deserve.

Romans 7:9-13 For I was alive without the law once: but when the commandment came, sin revived, and I died. And the commandment, which was ordained to life, I found to be unto death. For sin, taking occasion by the commandment, deceived me, and by it slew me. Wherefore the law is holy, and the commandment holy, and just, and good. Was then that which is good made death unto me? God forbid. But sin, that it might appear sin, working death in me by that which is good; that sin by the commandment might become exceeding sinful.

When we accept Christ as our saviour and put our faith and trust in Him, He gives us the right to become the Sons of God. Have you ever noticed when Jesus said pray like this, �Our Father which art in Heaven�� He said �Our Father� that would mean that He was placing us in the same category as Himself when He prayed.

He many times mentions us (the church) as being His bride, sharing His inheritance with us.

Well what is this that we still have a sinful nature hanging on with in our flesh? We will have that nature until He returns for us. But we are to die to that old nature and nourish the new nature he has given us. When the final day has arrived the things that were nourished in Him will stand the rest will be burned up as chaff at the threshers. The more we have nourished the Gospel the better we are at that time.

I really at times feel I understand Paul when he was saying: Romans 7:14-21 For we know that the law is spiritual: but I am carnal, sold under sin. For that which I do I allow not: for what I would, that do I not; but what I hate, that do I. If then I do that which I would not, I consent unto the law that it is good. Now then it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh,) dwelleth no good thing: for to will is present with me; but how to perform that which is good I find not. For the good that I would I do not: but the evil which I would not, that I do. Now if I do that I would not, it is no more I that do it, but sin that dwelleth in me. I find then a law, that, when I would do good, evil is present with me. I find my self praying to God� forgive me for the sin that I have conceived in my heart and the �da-da-da� that is not pleasing to you.

This I feel within my heart: Romans 7:24 O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? Romans 7:25 I thank God through Jesus Christ, our Lord! So then with the mind, I myself serve God's law, but with the flesh, the sin's law.

I find that I revert back into that old nature if I really don�t pay attention to what I am doing. Praise the Lord, He is so forgiving. He knows our hearts and our minds and yet Loves us sooo much that He will not leave us!


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Hebrews 8:12 For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness. I will remember their sins and lawless deeds no more."


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Who was it that said, �I love the challenge of starting over� I like to see how much I can accomplish?� Not I, but it does make me think!
~Anonymous~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com