Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

Evil-Mails

Tuesday, Nov. 06, 2007 - 8:36 p.m.

I know that you and everyone who has an email address on the internet is deluged with �spiritual� emails that tell you that if you love Jesus you will forward the email on to everyone on your list. Then they add that if you don�t love Jesus you may delete it. It is a form of controlling what other people do by putting a guilt trip on them. This is not what Jesus did! It is not what the apostles taught or did. But this does smack of something the Devil would do or teach. I seldom ever answer these emails and try to never pass any of them on unless I edit them to delete the evil prank and directions out. I do forward emails that I think would be worthy of being read. I like a good joke. I like to inform my addresses of something that has happened that will not be covered by our media outlets� I try to check these out for validity prior to sending them.

Below is a copy of an answer I sent to one person who sends me a lot of the types of emails mentioned above.

~~
Hi, I have seen different varieties this same e-mail many times if the past year or so. I have always deleted them because of several different reasons.

1) I don�t have to prove to any other person on this earth that I am a child of God; thusly I have no need to defend my intentions as to God, or prove my relationship with Him!

2) The person who made up this scenario is obviously misinformed as to the purpose of a congregation of people who gather in a church to fellowship with believers. They obviously believe that the people who attend church are supposed to be perfect. If such were the case there would be no one in any church. There are different types of
people who attend church.

� Those who do it because it is the proper thing to do.
� Those who are there to show how righteous they are � the pseudo Christian.
� Those who are there to join with others to praise their maker.
� Those who are there to learn about their maker and His plan for them.
� Et al.

3) I discern that the authors who make such scenarios, as well as the ones who try to put a guilt trip on you if you don�t pass on some type of e-mail if you love Jesus, are actually working for the soon-to-be resident of the bottomless pit. I have no desire to assist or abet these individuals in any way. I delete them and pray that other Christians who may not discern the same are not harmed by such corruption.

By the way this email is not intended to offend but to only be informative. Something to consider!
~~~
Well so much for my soap box entry today�


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Psalms 37:7 Rest in the LORD, and wait patiently for him: fret not thyself because of him who prospereth in his way, because of the man who bringeth wicked devices to pass.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Shakespeare once said: Life is pretty stupid, with lots of hubbub to keep you busy, but really not amounting to much� ..I�m paraphrasing of course. ~L.A. Story~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!


previous - next - 2 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com