Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

ZEAL WITHOUT KNOWLEDGE:

Tuesday, Sept. 11, 2007 - 12:28 a.m.

Napoleon divided his officers into four categories:

1) Brilliant and Industrious; were used as top staff.
2) Brilliant and Lazy; used in command positions
3) Stupid and Industrious; eliminated at all costs
4) Stupid and Lazy; used for menial work.

Category 1) was used to make the necessary decisions for their conquests. Category 2) was used as team leaders or non commissioned officers. Category 3) was not useful at all as a matter of fact they were more helpful for the enemy than their own team. This is the category that I would say was the zealous without knowledge that Paul was talking about in Romans 10:2! Of course the category 4) were the people who did the ground work. They got the job done.

Romans 10:1-4 (KJV) Brethren, my heart's desire and prayer to God for Israel is, that they might be saved. For I bear them record that they have a zeal of God, but not according to knowledge. For they being ignorant of God's righteousness, and going about to establish their own righteousness, have not submitted themselves unto the righteousness of God. For Christ is the end of the law for righteousness to every one that believeth.

I know that we have seen the type of person who is quite Zealous and has no concept of what is really going on. This type of person pops up on the job and they hardly ever last because they are more harm that good. The efforts they do cause a lot of work redoing correctly. I have known a person or two who fit in that category. After they got off for the day I would spend much time redoing what they messed up.

I have also seen people who had just come to the Lord and were what we termed Over Zealous and wanted to save everyone they ran into. After making the effort for a while they would give up and start questioning their own salvation. Who knows how many souls were turned off by their zeal. It is good though to see the young excitement in a new Christian develop. It compares to seeing a new born baby and admiring them as they grow and take steps and speak the first words.

Unfortunately some people never make it past being bottle babies. They never take the steps. They never continue on to sanctification. They may make it into heaven but they will not have any substance there. They will be like the worker bees attending to the kings and queens. I wonder if the people who do much for the Lord here on earth and collect credit here for their endeavor are in the same category with the worker bees� Since the reward was given here it is not laid up in heaven!

Just food for thought!

Don�t think that I am against zeal� I believe we in general don�t display nearly enough� I love this song:

�The Zeal of God consumes me;
it burns with in my soul;
a driving force that can�t be stopped;
a fire that can not be quenched!

Halle- lu- Hallelu-ujah � Hallelujah!
Halle- lu- Hallelu-ujah, oh Hallelujah!"

VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

(John 10:10 NIV) The thief comes only to steal and
kill and destroy; I have come that they may have life, and have it to the full.

(Psalms 31:23-24 NIV) Love the LORD, all his saints! The LORD preserves the faithful, but the proud he pays back in full. Be strong and take heart, all you who hope in the LORD.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

If a man sees the handwriting on the wall, there is most likely an artistic three year old in the area!


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com