Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

HARD KNOCKS COLLEGE!

Friday, Sept. 07, 2007 - 10:37 p.m.

The first king of Israel, whom the bellyaching people of Israel just had to have, Saul was at first seemingly a good choice for the Kingdom. He led his people to battle and wiped the enemy out. Of course that was only because he was listening to the Lord and doing His pleasure. After one successful conquest followed the Lords orders to the T but didn�t cross the T. He had slain every man, woman, and child as directed by the command of the Lord except he spared the opposing king. This king�s descendents then almost annihilated the Jewish people had it not been for Ester in another time.

David, we all know the story about him and the giant, became a might man and was the main protector of the nation. The people would sing in the streets that David was ten times the better of him and the King Saul. This got to Saul to no end and a jealous spirit was born in the King. This resulted in Saul desperately and in a conniving manner trying to kill David. David had opportunity many times to kill Saul but was loyal to him to the end. But for his own safety he had go on the lam. The story of his experience which was probably about ten years while he lived in caves and who knows where, was a time of learning and of growing up in his relationship with the Lord.

David said:
(1) I am hunted like a partridge
1 Samuel 26:20 (KJV) Now therefore, let not my blood fall to the earth before the face of the LORD: for the king of Israel is come out to seek a flea, as when one doth hunt a partridge in the mountains.

(2) I am like a pelican of the wilderness (Ps. 102:6);
Psalms 102:6a (KJV) I am like a pelican of the wilderness:

(3) I am like an owl of the desert (Ps. 102:6);
Psalms 102:6b (KJV) I am like an owl of the desert.

(4) My soul is among lions (Ps. 57:4);
Psalms 57:4 (KJV) My soul is among lions: and I lie even among them that are set on fire, even the sons of men, whose teeth are spears and arrows, and their tongue a sharp sword.

(5) They have prepared a net for my steps (Ps. 57:6).
Psalms 57:6a (KJV) They have prepared a net for my steps;

David becomes weary during these years of running away from Saul. When Saul presses him hard, he withdraws to the cave of Adullam, which is a rocky mountain fastness, southwest of Jerusalem, in a valley between Philistia and Hebron.

I guess you might say that David was a wiry persistant loyal subject and became a great King� �The Apple of the Lord�s Eye,� who teaches us how to praise the Lord in all circumstances.

I contend that the experiences David endured was truly a College of Hard Knocks� Don�t you agree?


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Hebrews 6:13-15 (NIV) When God made his promise to Abraham, since there was no one greater for him to swear by, he swore by himself, saying, "I will surely bless you and give you many descendants." And so after waiting patiently, Abraham received what was promised.

ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

�Early to rise and early to bed makes a man healthy, wealthy and dead!�
~James Thurber~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com