Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

THE MIGHTY WORD OF GOD!

Saturday, Aug. 04, 2007 - 1:29 p.m.

Many scholars declare that the Bible, The Word of God, in the most remarkable literary publication ever written! I don�t proclaim to be a great scholar or even a mediocre scholar. Just the same I marvel at the depth of the manuscripts that were written so long ago. The more I study, the more I know that it had to be designed in such a manner that even using the most powerful modern computers could not develop. It is totally inexhaustible! The writings, although done by many different authors over a long expanse of time, agree in context.

Proverbs 25:2-4 (NIV) It is the glory of God to conceal a matter; to search out a matter is the glory of kings. As the heavens are high and the earth is deep, so the hearts of kings are unsearchable. Remove the dross from the silver, and out comes material for the silversmith;

The Holy Scripture is the same way� once you ferret out the meaning you have the most precious nugget to grasp onto!

�The New Testament is in the Old Testament concealed;
The Old Testament is in the New Testament revealed�

~~ Augustine

I have my own belief about the versions that are presented to us for our own language. Each version has been written in such a way to bring out their own thoughts as to what is being said. That is why I sometimes go to different versions to express what I believe the passage is saying. I rely on the Holy Spirit to guide me to the truth. The ability of the Holy Spirit to do that is based on my own limits which are there even if I don�t think they are. I know of a bible teacher who teaches verse by verse and does an excellent job. However, this same person does not believe some of the things that the Holy Spirit has shown me over the years. It is hard for me to see just how he can miss this in the scripture because he reads the same thing I am reading. He is not doing this to be malicious, it is just that he can�t stretch his understanding around that particular fact.

Does this make this teacher a false teacher? I don�t believe so! He can only teach in the light he has acquired. That is true with everyone including you and me! That is why it is so important to search out the scriptures like the Bereans in Acts 17:11 to see the truth� and to pray asking that the Holy Spirit guide us to the true meaning of His Word!

Acts 17:11 (KJV) These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

Verse for today:

James 5:16 (KJV) Confess your faults one to another, and pray one for another, that ye may be healed. The effectual fervent prayer of a righteous man availeth much.

Ulterior thought:

Control your thoughts� for they shall become your words or actions unannounced!

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 5 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com