Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

BLESSED ARE THEY THAT MOURN:

Monday, Apr. 23, 2007 - 12:11 a.m.


(Mat 5:4 KJV) Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

Greek meaning;
Mourn: G3996. pentheo, pen-theh'-o; from G3997 grief:--mourning, sorrow; to grieve (the feeling or the act):--mourn, (be-) wail.

Hebrew meaning:
Mourn: H5594. caphad, saw-fad'; a prim. root; prop. to tear the hair and beat the breasts (as Orientals do in grief); gen. to lament; by impl. to wail:--lament, mourn (-er), wail.

The word �MOURN� is found 45 times in the KJV of the bible. There are other words used, however, in lieu of mourn such as wail, lament, etc.

The word Mourn used first in the bible when Abraham mourned for his wife Sarah.
(Gen 23:2 KJV) And Sarah died in Kirjatharba; the same is Hebron in the land of Canaan: and Abraham came to mourn for Sarah, and to weep for her.
The last time used in the KJV is in Revelation when the merchants of the world mourn over the destruction of Babylon.
(Rev 18:11 KJV) And the merchants of the earth shall weep and mourn over her; for no man buyeth their merchandise any more:

This is the second Beatitude!

~~~

Today�s memory verse Lam 3:22-23:
(Lam 3:21 KJV) This I recall to my mind, therefore have I hope. (Lam 3:22 KJV) It is of the LORD'S mercies that we are not consumed, because his compassions fail not. (Lam 3:23 KJV) They are new every morning: great is thy faithfulness. (Lam 3:24 KJV) The LORD is my portion, saith my soul; therefore will I hope in him.

I listened to a program last night talking about being in a �funk� where you feel like the Lord is not hearing your prayers and you just feel like nobody cares. Pastor Scott used Psalms 77 to deal with this situation. She said that when we get into such a condition that we need to bring back the things that God has done for us and the miracles we have seen and then you will begin to praise Him and you will be pulled out of that emotional drain on your spirit.

In Lamentations 3:21 the writer says this I recall to my mind, therefore I have hope. I didn�t see this scripture until after listening to the message but it, to me anyway, was right on with the message.

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com