Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

JOY!

Monday, Feb. 05, 2007 - 1:47 a.m.


Interesting subject� My first interest in this word comes from the scripture: Nehemiah 8:10 � for the joy of the LORD is your strength! The word JOY in this verse is from the Hebrew word �CHEDVAH� and means rejoicing, gladness, joy.
There are several words in Hebrew that is translated to the word JOY in the King James Version. They range in meaning from just a pleasant rejoicing: sasown; to a loud ear splitting calmer, trumpets, alarms, rejoicing shouts, etc.: teruw�ah.

It seems that the Holy Spirit has been leading me into the importance of Joy. Joy has come up several times in my studies the past few weeks. Some of the songs that come to me are praise songs and songs of joy.

Music has a direct relationship with joy. When I am singing praise to the Lord I put my thoughts of this world aside and just worship Him. Many times when this happens the anointing of the Holy Spirit just surrounds me. One time when I was singing in the Spirit I was taken in my minds ear out of this earth and where the Angles were singing� It was an experience that I can�t describe but I will never forget it. It put new meaning to �Heavenly feeling!�

About a week or so ago I felt the Lord was telling me that if we will get into the Spirit and Sing praises to the King of Kings that the manifestation of the earthly things in our bodies (temples of the Holy Spirit) would be blotted out. I know that when you are feeling poorly in the flesh that it is hard to get into the Spirit. But it can be done� It starts by what you are telling yourself and then moving from there into the heart and soul.

One of the interesting verses I came across: Joel 1:12 The vine is dried up, and the fig tree languisheth; the pomegranate tree, the palm tree also, and the apple tree, even all the trees of the field, are withered: BECAUSE joy is withered away from the sons of men. This word JOY is translated from sasown: 8342 gladness, joy, mirth, rejoicing. The people Joel was talking to made a living in agriculture and fruit was their livelihood. They were not prosperous BECAUSE their JOY had withered away.

I guess that shoots the �NAME-IT-N-CLAIM-IT� theory in the foot� doesn�t it? Oh well, I was always concerned on the motive of that theology anyway. Don�t get me wrong, I am not saying that we don�t need to watch what comes out of our mouths�

How do you find joy� Well one way is: John 16:24 ask, and ye shall receive, that your joy may be full.

When you stop and think about all the things that Jesus has done for you and me, you can�t help but get happy and joyful. Thinking on these things�Philippians 4:8 Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.

Blessings to y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to overflowing!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com