Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

HEAR THE LORD

Monday, Mar. 23, 2009 - 1:38 p.m.

God wants us to know that no matter how difficult things may get for us, he will sustain all who trust in him�by the power of his still, small voice, speaking to our inner man daily.

This is confirmed by the prophet Isaiah: (Isaiah 30:20-21) Though the Lord may give you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your teachers won't be hidden anymore, but your eyes will see your teachers; and when you turn to the right hand, and when you turn to the left, your ears will hear a voice behind you, saying, "This is the way. Walk in it."

Isaiah delivered this word to Israel in the very worst of times. The nation was under judgment, in absolute ruin, with everything breaking down. And so Isaiah told Israel�s leaders, �Turn to the Lord now! He wants to give you a word of direction�to speak to you, saying, �Go this way, go that way, here�s the way��� But they wouldn�t listen. They decided they would turn to Egypt to deliver them! They thought they could rely on the Egyptians� chariots, horses and supplies to see them through.

Yet, God did not send all of his judgment on Israel at that point. Rather, he decided to wait patiently until the bottom fell out of every plan. He said, (Isaiah 30:18) Therefore Yahweh will wait, that he may be gracious to you; and therefore he will be exalted, that he may have mercy on you, for Yahweh is a God of justice. Blessed are all those who wait for him.

Sure enough, everything failed, and things only got worse for the nation. Finally, when all their schemes had fallen through, God told the people, �Now, let me take over! Open your ears, and I will speak to you. I know the way out, and I will direct you. I want to guide your every move, to the right and to the left, to deliver you. I�ll lead you by my voice�speaking to you, telling you what to do, down to the last detail!�

It is important that you get to know the voice of God. He is still speaking. He made it clear, �My sheep know my voice.� There are many voices in the world today�loud, demanding voices. But there is that still, small voice of the Lord that can be known and heard by all who trust what Jesus said.


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 2 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com