Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

BUT I DON'T GET IT?

Monday, Apr. 28, 2008 - 11:57 a.m.


One day someone said this to him: �Sir Isaac, I do not understand. You seem to be able to believe the Bible like a little child. I have tried but I cannot. So many of its statements mean nothing to me. I cannot believe; I cannot understand.� This was the reply of Sir Isaac Newton: �Sometimes I come into my study and in my absentmindedness I attempt to light my candle when the extinguisher is over it, and I fumble about trying to light it and cannot; but when I remove the extinguisher then I am able to light the candle. I am afraid the extinguisher in your case is the love of your sins; it is deliberate unbelief that is in you. Turn to God in repentance; be prepared to let the Spirit of God reveal His truth to you, and it will be His joy to show the glory of the grace of God shining in the face of Jesus Christ.� Sir Isaac Newton was not only a great scientist but also a great preacher. Why don�t people believe? Because Satan has blinded their eyes �lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.� It is a glorious gospel, but it is glorious because it reveals the glory of Christ. Apparently that is what men do not want to see.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Proverbs 22:24 Don't befriend a hot-tempered man, And don't associate with one who harbors anger:


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Blessed are they who can give without remembering And take without forgetting!

May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com