Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

AGAPE TO ALL!

Monday, Dec. 31, 2007 - 12:02 a.m.

2 John 1:1-13 �The elder unto the elect lady and her children, whom I love in the truth; and not I only, but also all they that have known the truth; For the truth's sake, which dwelleth in us, and shall be with us for ever. Grace be with you, mercy, and peace, from God the Father, and from the Lord Jesus Christ, the Son of the Father, in truth and love.�

The writing of this epistle is attributed to St John the apostle. He refers to himself as an elder and is suspected of being the last of the original apostles living at the time of this writing.

Who he was writing to is still up for grabs. Some think that it was to a church group and it� members and others think it is written to some distinguished Woman of renown of that time and to her children. At least one person has speculated that it might be to Mary the mother of Jesus and the siblings of Jesus. None the less all scripture is given for our purpose, thus indirectly it is written to us.

�I rejoiced greatly that I found of thy children walking in truth, as we have received a commandment from the Father. And now I beseech thee, lady, not as though I wrote a new commandment unto thee, but that which we had from the beginning, that we love one another. And this is love, that we walk after his commandments. This is the commandment, That, as ye have heard from the beginning, ye should walk in it.�

This is one commandment that has been the brunt of many opposing conversations among believers. But it is not an argument to behold. The Word of God spells it out plainly and doesn�t miss one iota of meaning. We are commanded to love the Lord our God with all the capacity we can muster and to love our neighbors as our selves. We should love our spouses as Christ loves the church.
He loved us so much he laid down our life for us. How much more can a person love?


� For many deceivers are entered into the world, who confess not that Jesus Christ is come in the flesh. This is a deceiver and an antichrist. Look to yourselves, that we lose not those things which we have wrought, but that we receive a full reward. Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son. If there come any unto you, and bring not this doctrine, receive him not into your house, neither bid him God speed: For he that biddeth him God speed is partaker of his evil deeds. Having many things to write unto you, I would not write with paper and ink: but I trust to come unto you, and speak face to face, that our joy may be full. The children of thy elect sister greet thee. Amen.�

A person always thinks of the JW�s who come knocking at your door trying to sell their doctrine to us when we read these verses. When they knock on my door I am very careful, or try to be, not to wish them God speed. It is hard sometimes to do that since we are to love our enemies. I try to remember to tell them, if anything, that I will pray for them to find the truth, and bid them good bye. That should take care of them but then we have a tendency to overlook one of the worst violators of our times and this violator is setting right in most of our homes. I have one setting on my desk right now next to my computer� The TV. There is more propaganda comes over that box than we could ever imagine. Even when we are careful there are little innuendos that are sowing false doctrine seeds in our minds� even the commercials do that. I am in the process of learning how to use the remote to change channels or shut it off. Remembering that, �what goes in our heart as seed comes out of our hearts as harvest.�

I find my self praying for the failure of some programs that are demonic in nature. Back when we were overwhelmed with physics commercials I and a bunch of other Christians started praying that they would be taken off of our channels. Praise the Lord, they for the most part have been curtailed. We need to agree on some of the other programming also. This is a spiritual warfare and we need to band to gather as soldiers of the Cross, bend our knees, or other wise agree I prayer as touching such things.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Habakkuk 2:3 For the vision is yet for an appointed time, but at the end it shall speak, and not lie: though it tarry, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Failure is not the only punishment for laziness; there is also the success of others.
~Unknown~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com