Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

SAVIOR BORN:

Thursday, Dec. 20, 2007 - 1:45 p.m.

The celebration of the birth of Christ was not documented by Christian writings prior to 440 AD. The roman church then proclaimed December 25th to be that day of celebration, thus becoming our official Christmas. The early Christian church did not celebrate the birth of Jesus, and therefore the exact date was not preserved in festivities of that time. The 25th of December was actually a vestige of the Roman holiday of Saturnalia, observed near the winter solstice, which itself was among the many pagan traditions inherited from the earlier Babylonian priesthood.
Luke 2:7-8 And she brought forth her firstborn son, and wrapped him in swaddling clothes, and laid him in a manger; because there was no room for them in the inn. And there were in the same country shepherds abiding in the field, keeping watch over their flock by night.
According to the history books of agriculture in that land, shepherds brought their flocks in from the fields in October into the folds to protect them from the elements of winter. Therefore the birth had to be before the shepherds sheltered their flocks in October.

Many scholars if the past have accepted the birth year as 4 BC, primarily from an erroneous conclusion derived from Josephus� recording of an eclipse. The date of the eclipse is disputable and using it as a bench mark is ludicrous.

Other scholars have traced the date by determining when John the Baptist was born. We know that John was a cousin to Mary and was born 5 months prior to Jesus. By tracing the time line of John the birth of John would be approximately April 19-20, 2 BC. From that you could make a conclusion that Jesus was born close to September 29, 2 BC. An interesting note to that date� It happens to be the First of Tishri, the day of the Feast of Trumpets.

In my opinion it really doesn�t matter what the date might be. We can celebrate His birth everyday in our own lives. He, to my knowledge, has never told us to celebrate his birth as such. He does however tell us to regard his death in His remembrance. (Communion is the term we use for this). His death is the most important thing He did for us. The blood that He shed for us is what gives us eternal life.

Luke 22:19-20 And he took bread, and gave thanks, and brake it, and gave unto them, saying, This is my body which is given for you: this do in remembrance of me. Likewise also the cup after supper, saying, This cup is the new testament in my blood, which is shed for you.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

John 15:10-11 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father's commandments, and abide in his love. These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Nostalgia is like a grammar lesson; You find the present tense and the past perfect.
~Unknown~

May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com