Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

Me, A Vessel?

Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2007 - 3:13 p.m.

Consider that we are vessels for the purpose of doing service for God. Many times it is said that we are to be in-filled or that we hold things within our selves. We often talk about being filled with the Holy Spirit. If we are being filled with anything we must be a vessel of some sort.

Now picture yourself as a tall glass. Picture that glass being full of something. I know I have been accused from time to time as having been filled with hot air. I do know that there is some hot air that has passed from this vessel from time to time, but I do try to keep integrity as my attitude. (Pay attention and don�t add a different meaning to this.)

This glass we are looking at has many different things in it. Some of it was what we were born with, some that was added through the years and some stains left from different situations that occurred in the past. The thing we strive mostly for though is to be filled with the things of God.

Paul is talking about being filled with Christ:
Ephesians 3:16-19 That he would grant you, according to the riches of his glory, to be strengthened with might by his Spirit in the inner man; That Christ may dwell in your hearts by faith; that ye, being rooted and grounded in love, May be able to comprehend with all saints what is the breadth, and length, and depth, and height; And to know the love of Christ, which passeth knowledge, that ye might be filled with (to your capacity) all the fulness of God.

Notice that the word with really means. �to your capacity.� This means that there is more available as you empty our some of the �Rocks� we have picked up along the way. I know that we realize more Glory in our hearts when the poor attitude is not in operation. When we purge our hearts from worries we allow more of this blessing from God to fill us. The love of Christ is beyond our comprehension.

I remember back 40 plus years ago when my girls were just toddlers. They would tell me they loved me. I would ask them how much they loved me and I remember them stretching their arms out full length and saying, �I love you this much, Daddy!� How much is that? The stretched arms of Jesus encompassed the whole world. I picture in my mind: Jesus with his arms stretched our on the cross, with the globe of the world between, and Him saying, �I love you this much!�

When gold is smelted it is melted and the impurities separate and the pure gold can be acquired. It is the same with us. As the fire of God melts us the impurities will be separated and can be skimmed off. The same method of cleaning lead to make lead joints in the plumbing industry back when I was a youngster was applicable. I remember the plumber melting the lead in a scoop and then using a wood stick to skim the impurities off of the top of the melted lead. Then the lead was poured into the joint to seal the joint. The lead that had impurities was not usable for making a good seal. The impurities would cause the joint to leak over a period of time.

As our hearts are purged of the impurities we are more useful to the cause of the gospel. Sure there will still be some Rocks we will pick up along the way by our natural man, but as we confess these impurities to the Lord, He is faithful to forgive us of them and purge them from our hearts. Now the things purged and forgiven are never noticed again by the Lord because they are under His Blood.

How much does He love us? THIS MUCH and More!


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Psalms 18:39 For thou hast girded me with strength unto the battle: thou hast subdued under me those that rose up against me.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

When you say a situation or a person is hopeless, you are slamming the door in the face of God!
~Unknown~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com