Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

ALL BELIEVERS:

Friday, Nov. 16, 2007 - 2:02 a.m.

Titus 1:11-16 Whose mouths must be stopped, who subvert whole houses, teaching things which they ought not, for filthy lucre's sake. One of themselves, even a prophet of their own, said, The Cretians are alway liars, evil beasts, slow bellies (lazy bodied). This witness is true. Wherefore rebuke them sharply, that they may be sound in the faith; Not giving heed to Jewish fables, and commandments of men, that turn from the truth. Unto the pure all things are pure: but unto them that are defiled and unbelieving is nothing pure; but even their mind and conscience is defiled. They profess that they know God; but in works they deny him (the body language and/or results of their actions), being abominable, and disobedient, and unto every good work reprobate. (adokimos ad-ok'-ee-mos; unapproved, i.e. rejected; by implication, worthless (literally or morally):--castaway, rejected, reprobate. that which is rejected on account of its own worthlessness (Jer. 6:30).

The words of wisdom in Titus are basically for those people who are ministers of the gospel at one level or another. It is still good wisdom for every believer. The character of our Christian walk is out in front of everyone. That character actually speaks louder that words in many cases. That is why we as believers endeavor to do what is pleasing in the sight of God.

I know that when I experienced the calling He had on my life� I accepted the call and started thinking of what I should do to be a worker to lead others to the Lord. I really had no clue on my own, but I did notice that my whole inner man changed� I mean like my desires were completely flip-flop from before. I also noticed that my vocabulary changed remarkably. I no longer punctuated each sentence with the F-word. I no longer found fault in other individuals. This was my baby steps� over time the human instinct returned to some degree. By the grace of God and with the discernment by the Holy Spirit these things are brought to naught through constant forgiveness by the mercy of God and my repentance.

I was involved in a small amount of a deliverance ministry. One thing I learned from that ministry is if you cast a demon out and don�t fill that void with Jesus and the Holy Spirit that the demon will return and bring back his friends and the condition will be seven times worse than before.

An example of that happen several years ago when I was teaching bible classes on my own time in a cell-house that I worked in. One grave yard night I came to work and while I was doing my acceptance round one of the inmates asked me to come back to talk to him after I got settled in.

After my count cleared I went back to talk to him and he told me that during the day they had sent him to the ware house to do some work. While there some of the other inmates working there were Christians and they ministered to him and determined that he had a demon that need to be cast-out. He agreed to go along with it and they did cast out a few demons. He was really excited because he felt so much better. Everything looked different to him. He said that he could hardly wait till I came in for my shift to tell me about it. I then asked him, �did you invite Jesus into your heart then?� He said, �No.� I asked him why not and he said that he was going to do that but he had some unfinished business to take care of before he did. I told him about the demons coming back seven fold and he said the he knew that and wouldn�t wait too long before he did.

He had finished his sentence and was released two days later. One month later word came back that he had been slain in a gun battle in Chicago. The report also said that he really went off the deep end mentally.

I know this is a sad story� but, when you hear the word is good that you act on it. Jesus is and will always be the answer either directly or indirectly� ALWAYS THE ANSWER!


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Psalms 138:6-8 For Jehovah is high; but he looketh upon the lowly, and the proud he knoweth afar off. Though I walk in the midst of trouble, thou wilt revive me: thou wilt stretch forth thy hand against the anger of mine enemies, and thy right hand shall save me. Jehovah will perfect what concerneth me: thy loving-kindness, O Jehovah, endureth for ever; forsake not the works of thine own hands.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

A young Indian widower got remarried to a pretty young filly, after a couple of months he gave her a new nickname, �Three Horses� because all she would do is nag-nag-nag!
~Milo Yield~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!


previous - next - 2 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com