Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

The Prudent Donkey.

Sunday, Oct. 28, 2007 - 10:28 p.m.

The other night I was dreaming about me in different situations where I said nothing but flippant remarks to everything that was said. If you know me you know that is not completely out of charter for me. I don�t think that I am quite that bad but I think the Lord was trying to show me something.

It seems that the King of Syria, King Benhadad, had brought all of his mighty men of valor to surround the city of Samaria, shutting off all import and export of supplies. Of course Samaria ran out of food and were getting desperate. The King of Israel sent messages to Elisha and asked for guidance from the Lord. Elisha came to the gate and (2 Kings 7:1) Elisha said, �Hear you the word of Yahweh: thus says Yahweh, Tomorrow about this time shall a measure of fine flour be sold for a shekel, and two measures of barley for a shekel, in the gate of Samaria.�

The King�s captain said, (paraphrased) �Yeah right! Only if your God would open the windows of Heaven!� Then Elisha replied, �Behold, you shall see it with your eyes, but shall not eat of it.�

Making a longer story short, some leprous men out side the gate decided that they were starving to death and that they would die anyway so why not go and beg from the Syrians. When they got there they found that the Syrians had split from the camp leaving everything behind them. So they ransacked a couple of tents and his the food, clothes and money and hid it all. Then they decided that if they were there when the Syrians came back that they would be in a heap of trouble so they went back to the gate of Samaria and reported what they had found. The king sent out a crew to check out the information and found it to be true.

The people of Samaria then went and confiscated everything left by the Syrians laid out a feast for everyone� That is except the Captain who made the stupid remark.

2 Kings 7:18-20 It happened, as the man of God had spoken to the king, saying, Two measures of barley for a shekel, and a measure of fine flour for a shekel, shall be tomorrow about this time in the gate of Samaria; and that captain answered the man of God, and said, Now, behold, if Yahweh should make windows in heaven, might such a thing be? and he said, Behold, you shall see it with your eyes, but shall not eat of it: it happened even so to him; for the people trod on him in the gate, and he died.

That was a costly moment of arrogance that cost the proud
man his life. I guess that maybe I should start curbing my tongue and be careful what I say when I don�t see the whole picture. (which by the way is almost all the time!)


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

2 Corinthians 13:11 Finally, brothers, rejoice. Be perfected, be comforted, be of the same mind, live in peace, and the God of love and peace will be with you.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Many people reach the top of the ladder of success only to discover that the ladder is leaning on the wrong wall!
~Anonymous~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 2 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com