Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

THE BRAGGART

Friday, Oct. 26, 2007 - 9:35 p.m.

Almost fifty years ago I was working for a public utility company in the natural gas department. The job was considered one of the better jobs a blue collar worker could have in this community. The company, much differently than most utility companies of today, was service oriented and would do all they could to satisfy the customer. I worked for two years on different crews. Occasionally I would be assigned to be a welder�s helper. We had two welders in our office and I learned a lot from them. One of the welders, Big J, was always telling everyone who would listen, sometimes not listen, that he was the best welder in the state. He was always putting down the other welder. The other welder was equally as good as Big J but he never bragged about his skills. One day I was assigned to Big J and after listening to him all day toward the evening I got fed up with him putting down the other guy. I told him that if he would quit bragging about his skill that other people might just see how good he really was. He shut up and I was never assigned to Big J�s crew again. That scenario came to mind as I was reading the following scripture tonight.

Proverbs 27:2 Let another man praise you, And not your own mouth; A stranger, and not your own lips.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

James 4:10 Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he will exalt you.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

�Wisdom, knowledge, and understanding is waiting for you to ask for them!... Ye have not because you ask not!�
~Unknown� well-known~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 1 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com