Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

Shaky Spear?

Monday, Oct. 01, 2007 - 12:42 a.m.

Shakespeare once said: Life is pretty stupid, with lots of hubbub to keep you busy, but really not amounting to much� ..I�m paraphrasing of course. ~L.A. Story~

Do you suppose that Shakespeare was a scholar of the Old Testament book of Ecclesiastes? The line of thought might seem as though he was a believer in that great book.

Ecclesiastes 1:1-6 (KJV) The words of the Preacher, the son of David, king in Jerusalem. Vanity of vanities, saith the Preacher, vanity of vanities; all is vanity. What profit hath a man of all his labour which he taketh under the sun? One generation passeth away, and another generation cometh: but the earth abideth for ever. The sun also ariseth, and the sun goeth down, and hasteth to his place where he arose. The wind goeth toward the south, and turneth about unto the north; it whirleth about continually, and the wind returneth again according to his circuits.

It is true that people get so involved in the process of getting material gain that they overlook the fact that they will never live long enough to truly enjoy what they stockpile. Some think Oh well, I won�t get the chance to enjoy it but my kids and grand kids will! Most goodies that are acquired from the forefathers is not respected and enjoyed the way the parents had expected. If they work for their own stock pile they are more apt to respect it and be good stewards of the same.

Years ago I was acquainted with some folks who received a large inheritance from their parents. This included a big ranch in the mountains close to Red Feather Lakes. Everything was free and clear of all debts and they also got a huge sum in cash, stocks and bonds. They were worth several million dollars. They decided to use the funds for the high life and latterly squandered the money away� they built a huge log lodge on the ranch and purchased all kinds of the most modern equipment. Within four years they had not only scraped the bottom of their savings but had gone deep into debt� the outcome was they ended up in bankruptcy, divorce and attempted suicide. They left the country and I have not heard from them since.

Everyone who gains great wealth does not go down the same path. But do you wonder that the reason you (assuming that you aren�t wealthy material wise) are not of great earthly wealth is because the Lord is in control and knows that you can not handle that kind of responsibility? I have pondered that possibility in my life many times and then I Praise the Lord because He has supplied all of my needs and I still Love Him Greatly and want to have more and more of Him in my life.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

(1 John 5:13 NIV) I write these things to you who believe in the name of the Son of God so that you may know that you have eternal life.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

If you forget a secret, you have successfully kept it!
~Anonymous~


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com