Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

DOCTRINE:

Sunday, Aug. 26, 2007 - 7:15 p.m.

Dictionary definition~
Doctrine: something which is taught; belief, tenet; teachings of a religion or branch of knowledge.

Doctrine in my words is a belief system that is built on the experiences and teachings we have received. We build our doctrine generally on what we believe to be true according to the limits we have placed in our intellect.

It seems that everybody has some set of belief�s or a doctrine that matches their individualism. This may be good but in some cases it is destructive to our own well being futuristically. I come to this understanding by some of the things that have happened to in my life time. To site an example: I can remember when I was a child that it was common to hear the words �dirty Jew� during normal discussion. It was not something I was taught at home but among my friends at school and church. I was told later that as a Christian that we were adopted by God and thus became Jews ourselves. This is sometimes referred to as the replacement theory. After studying the scripture I have determined that none of the above has any biblical legitimacy. Rather, being born of the spirit by my believe and faith in Jesus Christ: He being the Father�s only begotten Son, was sinless, but died for the sins of the world, buried, and arose again the third day; gives us the power to become the sons of God and joint heirs with Jesus Christ.

Just using that one example you can see where a doctrine built on either of the first limits could have kept me from understanding the truth of His Holy Word. Who knows where the deception could have lead had I not searched the scriptures and studied them to show my self approved.

2 Tim 2:15 KJV) Study to show thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.

If I had accepted, for instance the replacement theory, as my doctrine, I would have set a limit on my ability to understand the Word of God as the Holy Spirit is teaching rendering myself as being UN-TEACHABLE! Obviously what I want for my relationship with the Son of God is not to be un-teachable. I want to learn all my meger little mind can about Him. I want to draw closer to Him! I want to Love Him increasingly more with each breath! Yes, I want to be like the Bereans in Acts 17!

Acts 17:11 NRSV) These Jews were more receptive than those in Thessalonica, for they welcomed the message very eagerly and examined the scriptures every day to see whether these things were so.

When we put the limits of doctrine on our selves we run the risk of being a fool!

Proverbs 26:12 (KJV) Seest thou a man wise in his own conceit? there is more hope of a fool than of him.

Being stubborn in some ways has it�s advantages but depending what the stubbornness is against! If the stubbornness is that you will not allow yourself to be distracted by things of the world, ranting of heretics, the things of the flesh, any thing that is not of the God, Jesus, or the Holy Spirit then it is good!

Philippians 4:8 (KJV) Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.


VERSE FOR THIS ENTRY!

Psalms 27:5 (KJV) For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me up upon a rock.


ULTERIOR WORDS OF WISDOM� OR/NOT!

Bob Hope once said, �Middle age is when your age starts to show around your middle!� Progressing from that tidbit of information, one can assume that: �Old age is when you have to move more gingerly to keep the middle age from throwing you off balance!�


May you be filled to overflowing with the Holy Spirit!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com