Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

WE STAND ON WHAT?

Saturday, Jul. 21, 2007 - 11:39 p.m.

After a long day teaching and telling parables to a crowd of followers, Jesus said,

Mark 4:35-38 (NIV) That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, "Let us go over to the other side." Leaving the crowd behind, they took him along, just as he was, in the boat. There were also other boats with him. A furious squall came up, and the waves broke over the boat, so that it was nearly swamped. Jesus was in the stern, sleeping on a cushion. The disciples woke him and said to him, "Teacher, don't you care if we drown?"

That had to be some kind of storm� I mean, some of these guys were professional fishermen. I am sure that they have seen some of the worst type of storms, but this one made them fearful for their lives.

Mark 4:39 NIV) He (JESUS) got up, rebuked the wind and said to the waves, "Quiet! Be still!" Then the wind died down and it was completely calm. He said to his disciples, "Why are you so afraid? Do you still have no faith?" They were terrified and asked each other, "Who is this? Even the wind and the waves obey him!"

Notice that Jesus commanded the wind to stop? What happened? The wind stopped! PTL! Now what happened� Jesus chided them for not using faith to do this them selves! His words if you can put them in sarcastic New York Jewish vernacular� �What? You don�t have faith now?" I could just hear it!

So what is behind the scenes here? The enemy was trying to put a stop to the ministry of Christ right there� The devil has made and still makes attempts for the Word of God to come forth and save the people he (the devil) claims as his own.

Luke 10:19-20 (KJV) Behold, I give unto you power to tread on serpents and scorpions, and over all the power of the enemy: and nothing shall by any means hurt you. Notwithstanding in this rejoice not, that the spirits are subject unto you; but rather rejoice, because your names are written in heaven.

Jesus has given the power to become the sons of God to us who believe and have faith in Him� in so doing giving us the authority over all power of the enemy!

Ok on a small scale I have seen this come to pass several times. One example is: onetime I was riding a motorcycle into the City about 40 miles from home. I was on my way to take classes to keep my teaching credentials valid. On the way a big thunderhead loomed up ahead of me and it started to rain. Then it started to hail� I was moving along at 65 miles an hour to make class on time. I saw a few big chunks of hail come down the size of golf balls. I started to pray. I felt the Holy Spirit tell me to take authority over that hail just like Jesus did with the wind. I did� I said out loud, if not screamed, �In the Name of Jesus HAIL CEASE! I did not have one hail stone hit me or my cycle and the hail was stacking up on the side of my path up to 4 inches deep in some spots. My path was dry. I didn�t reduce my speed and I didn�t get wet. When I got to the school I was on time, dry and praising Jesus. That is only one example. Through the years since; I have seen many occurrences of the same. Not exactly, but of same type.

Some time after that incident I had a vision of a tornado coming my way to destroy me. I was standing on the dock of a railway station and the tornado was following close to the rail. In this vision I commanded the tornado, which was headed strait for me to change its course and not do any damage to anything in that area. This vision was conformation to me that we as born-again Christians and the inheritance and joint heirs with Christ, should start using our authority to change things around us that are sourced or generated by the enemy for the purpose of trying to destroy the Body of Christ!


Verse for today:

(Isa 30:15 NIV) This is what the Sovereign LORD, the Holy One of Israel, says: "In repentance and rest is your salvation, in quietness and trust is your strength�


Ulterior thought:

If you are not having darts and flaming arrows being shot at you by the devil; you might ought to check out your strategy. He might think you are already on his side and is not at threat to evil endeavors!


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com