Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

LOVE - AGAPE

Saturday, Jul. 14, 2007 - 6:31 p.m.

In 1 Corinthians:


Chapter 12 of Paul's letter teaches that the Holy Spirit gives gifts to each of us, spiritual gifts, supernatural gifts, but not everyone gets the same gifts. That's very important. If we have a spiritual gift and do not exercise it, we defraud the body of Christ, for the gift was not given for us, but for the body of Christ. It is truly exciting to be a willing vessel and discover gifts that were given to us. Not for our personal gain� a gift or gifts do not make you any more spiritual than any other person� but to experience the uplifting of the members of the body of Christ.


Chapter 14 deals with the abuse of gifts. The greatest of the gifts is prophecy. It most edifies the church, it most convinces outsiders, but it must be used in an orderly manner. The disposition of the usage of the gift is subject to the person the gift is working through. That is why to be effective you must be a willing vessel. The discussion of prophecy is a counterbalance to the over-emphasis on tongues. Yes the gift of tongues is for today! But be sure it is the real not the counterfeit that sometimes comes �out of the woodwork!� The answer to the questions of spiritual gifts is right between 12 and 14: All these gifts, whatever they are, are without any benefit to anyone without LOVE!

Chapter 13 speaks of the utter necessity of love� Paul said: �Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not love, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge; and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, and have not love, it profiteth me nothing."

The first characteristics of love:

. Love suffereth long, and is kind;
. Love envieth not;
. Love vaunteth not itself, is not puffed up,
. Doth not behave itself unseemly,
. Seeketh not her own,
. Is not easily provoked, thinketh no evil;
. Rejoiceth not in iniquity, but rejoiceth in the truth
. Beareth all things, Believeth all things,
. Hopeth all things, Endureth all things

I believe that the agape love spoke of in the scriptures in not a love that is generated in our own being. It is one that is given to us to be reflect through us to others. That is one of the reasons I often ask the Lord to let me see a person or group of persons through His eyes. I believe He does answer that prayer but in the degree that my human mind can stand it. I don�t believe that we could handle the full load of what the Lord sees in any individual. I believe though, that when we have our resurrected bodies that will change.


Verse for today:

Revelation 21:6-7 (NRSV) Then he said to me, "It is done! I am the Alpha and the Omega, the beginning and the end. To the thirsty I will give water as a gift from the spring of the water of life. Those who conquer will inherit these things, and I will be their God and they will be my children.


Ulterior thought:

Folks could learn more from their mistakes if they weren�t so busy denying them!

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com