Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

POP QUIZ GRADE�

Tuesday, Jul. 10, 2007 - 1:03 a.m.

Ok at least one person got the correct answer� maybe next quiz� I will give more time to answer. But here is the correct answer given:

Gen 5:21-25

21 When Enoch had lived 65 years, he became the father of Methuselah. 22 And after he became the father of Methuselah, Enoch walked with God 300 years and had other sons and daughters. 23 Altogether, Enoch lived 365 years. 24 Enoch walked with God; then he was no more, because God took him away.

Gen 5:25-6:1
25 When Methuselah had lived 187 years, he became the father of Lamech. 26 And after he became the father of Lamech, Methuselah lived 782 years and had other sons and daughters. 27 Altogether, Methuselah lived 969 years, and then he died. 28 When Lamech had lived 182 years, he had a son. 29 He named him Noah and said, "He will comfort us in the labor and painful toil of our hands caused by the ground the LORD has cursed." 30 After Noah was born, Lamech lived 595 years and had other sons and daughters. 31 Altogether, Lamech lived 777 years, and then he died.

He died before His father died..
Because Enoch was translated.. did not see death

I was thinking about Balaam and his talking donkey today and got to thinking about this thing� He showed no surprise when his donkey spoke to him. He must have been really distracted or things were really different back in those days. I have never heard an animal speak to me in my language. Sure I have a friend who taught his dog to make sounds that, with a stretch of imagination sounded like words. These sounds were not said on the dog�s own volition� they were preformed on cue. You have to give credit to the trainer who can teach animals to perform on cue.

This was different. I think if I should, and most men of today would, hear a donkey speaking in English to me, we would react much like King Belshazzaar did when the hand came out of no where and wrote on the wall.

Dan 5:1-6 (KJV) Belshazzar the king made a great feast to a thousand of his lords, and drank wine before the thousand. Belshazzar, whiles he tasted the wine, commanded to bring the golden and silver vessels which his father Nebuchadnezzar had taken out of the temple which was in Jerusalem; that the king, and his princes, his wives, and his concubines, might drink therein. Then they brought the golden vessels that were taken out of the temple of the house of God which was at Jerusalem; and the king, and his princes, his wives, and his concubines, drank in them. They drank wine, and praised the gods of gold, and of silver, of brass, of iron, of wood, and of stone. In the same hour came forth fingers of a man's hand, and wrote over against the candlestick upon the plaster of the wall of the king's palace: and the king saw the part of the hand that wrote. Then the king's countenance was changed, and his thoughts troubled him, so that the joints of his loins were loosed, and his knees smote one against another.

For sure I don�t think many people would hang around us too close afterward. Once I cleaned up and became acclimated to this phenomenon, I would probably try to capitalize on this animal�s ability and sell tickets for people to come to see and hear him talk.

Today�s verse:

Proverbs 22:9 (KJV) He that hath a bountiful eye shall be blessed; for he giveth of his bread to the poor.

Ulterior thought:

I was acquainted with a person who by all terms could be compared with the slothful man spoken of in Proverbs. He never lasted over a few days at any job until he got hired to work for the State. I asked him one day how he was doing and how he liked the job. He replied, �I enjoy coming to work here, it is just that waiting the eight hours to get to go home that gets to me!� Hey, he must have done something right because after 15 years on the job he has been promoted to captain and up for grabs as a major.


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com