Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

THE GIFT:

Monday, Jul. 02, 2007 - 4:49 p.m.

This is a big subject as most are� Some people grow up thinking that when a gift is given to you that you are obliged to reciprocate with a like or greater gift. Yet again we believe that the word gift means something given with no strings attached. I can�t say that I was brought up believing that but I did learn it as I became an adult through my mates. One such person would say when a certain person would give a gift to us that we should not accept that gift from them. When I asked her why not she would answer that that person sends gifts as hooks and you were expected to return much more that you had in appreciation of the gift. That really didn�t make sense to me the first time but as time progress I could see the wisdom in that statement.

I can see from that analogy that there are different types of gifts. Two of which are, the free gift, and the gift with hooks. The gift with hooks is mentioned above. The FREE GIFT is the one that is my main thought today.

The free gift is one that is given out of love and nothing but respect or love is expected in return. There is no way you can pay back a give that is given in love. Some people try� but it is really a slap to the face of the giver, the gift-receiver is in essence saying, �Thanks for the gift but I can�t love you back, therefore I will pay you for it!� Now if that isn�t a mood breaker�! Paul is talking about that in Romans 4:

Romans 4:3-5 (KJV) For what saith the scripture? Abraham believed God, and it was counted unto him for righteousness. Now to him that worketh is the reward not reckoned of grace, but of debt. But to him that worketh not, but believeth on him that justifieth the ungodly, his faith is counted for righteousness��


Salvation is a free gift from the Lord. He paid the extreme price for that gift because He loves us so much. Now here we are, we know that we don�t deserve the gift, and we know that the gift is only given to those who believe in Him (have faith in Him). Then some of us try to pay Him back for what He has given us. To begin with it would be impossible to do so. The price is paid once and forever! Those who try to pay penance for their misgivings are only �slapping Him in the face,� in essence saying I don�t want Your Love unless I can pay for it!

Like I said the subject is quite deep but yet the idea is really shallow. Just accept the free gift of God�s Grace. Allow Him to bathe us in His never-ending Love. You can not help but to love Him back with out doing any penance for any of you sins even if they were committed after your point of accepting and believing in Him. Those were also paid by His supreme sacrifice on the Cross.


Memory verse for today:

Psalms 55:16 - 18 (KJV) As for me, I will call upon God; and the LORD shall save me. Evening, and morning, and at noon, will I pray, and cry aloud: and he shall hear my voice. He hath delivered my soul in peace from the battle that was against me: for there were many with me.

Psalms 3:3-4 (KJV) But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head. I cried unto the LORD with my voice, and he heard me out of his holy hill. Selah.

I can�t help but sing that song when it comes to mind!


Ulterior thought:

Never engage in a battle of wits with an unarmed opponent!
~Unknown~


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com