Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

BAPTIZO:

Wednesday, Jun. 27, 2007 - 5:28 p.m.

The Greek word for baptize is �baptizo,� (bap-tid'-zo;) it means being wholly immersed in a liquid.

My little sister had the engine of her car baptized in water the other day. She was forced to travel into a flooding roadway by on coming traffic. She is fine, by the Grace of God! The engine didn�t make out so well. It had water in the air filter, the oil, and the electrical parts. (She did get it all fixed though).

That was a baptism in water. John the Baptist baptized in water to the repentance. Jesus baptizes with the Holy Ghost and with fire.

Matthew 3:11 (KJV) I indeed baptize you with water unto repentance: but he that cometh after me is mightier than I, whose shoes I am not worthy to bear: he shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost, and with fire:

Luke 3:16 (KJV) John answered, saying unto them all, I indeed baptize you with water; but one mightier than I cometh, the latchet of whose shoes I am not worthy to unloose: he shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost and with fire:

The above verses are the only two places I could find where baptism in fire is mentioned. Both of them are quotes from John the Baptist.

Being baptized would, to me, mean to be totally covered and in the total presence of what ever you are being baptized in. I am quite aware of being baptized in water and the Holy Ghost. I am studying the baptism in fire and don�t have a full understanding of it yet. I do have an idea of what it means, but haven�t chiseled it yet in stone� I attempted a word search on fire and determined that the study in that would be quite lengthy. So I will pause there for now!


Memory verse for today:

2 Thessalonians 3:5 (KJV) And the Lord direct your hearts into the love of God, and into the patient waiting for Christ.

2 Thessalonians 3:5 (Amplified) May the Lord direct your hearts into [realizing and showing] the love of God and into the steadfastness and patience of Christ and in waiting for His return.

Ulterior thought:

�The �Ten Commandments� is like a mirror to Christians; it shows you your sins but can not shave you� YOU ARE SHAVED BY GRACE!
(Walter Martin)

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com