Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

GUARDED HEART!

Monday, Jun. 25, 2007 - 9:44 p.m.

Proverbs 4:23 (KJV) Keep thy heart with all diligence; for out of it are the issues of life.

The Hebrew word for keep is: �natsar,� naw-tsar'; which means to guard. The Hebrew word for diligence is: �mishmar,� mish-mawr'; and means to watch like a prison guard would watch. Hebrew for issues in this context is: �towtsa'ah,� to-tsaw-aw'; and refers to the boundaries. So to paraphrase this verse you could say, �Guard your spiritual heart as if it were a prison, because the boundaries of your spiritual life depend on what goes in and comes out of your heart!�

2 Corinthians 10:5-7 (KJV) Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ; And having in a readiness to revenge all disobedience, when your obedience is fulfilled.
Do ye look on things after the outward appearance? If any man trust to himself that he is Christ's, let him of himself think this again, that, as he is Christ's, even so are we Christ's.

A prisoner is essentially a captive, right? Paul is telling us here that we need to the same thing that Proverbs is telling us. That is, to watch what goes in and comes out of our hearts. The things that go into our hearts should build up our faith. �Faith cometh by hearing, and hearing by the Word of God!� I suggest that a good routine to follow in the progress of this endeavor is to get into the Scripture daily� the more the better. I believe that the more you get into Gods Word the more your whole outlook on this life appear. Also the more you know about Jesus the more you will want to know about Him! Anyway I find this true in my life.

The more I find out about Jesus the more in awe I am of His nature and His power. I have heard it said that you can find Jesus, either directly or indirectly, on every page of the Bible. The more I read and study the more I believe that the statement is true.

Another thing I have found out� the more I know about Jesus the more I love Him and the more I want to be with Him. I believe that is because that faith cometh by reading and understanding the Word of God!

Psalms 26:2-3 (KJV) Examine me, O LORD, and prove me; try my reins and my heart. For thy lovingkindness is before mine eyes: and I have walked in thy truth.

The Hebrew word for reins is the word that kidney comes from. So the verse is talking about the inter-most spiritual being of the writer.

James 4:8-10 (KJV) Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded. Be afflicted, and mourn, and weep: let your laughter be turned to mourning, and your joy to heaviness. Humble yourselves in the sight of the Lord, and he shall lift you up.

I think that the start of indulging on Gods graces requires us to humble ourselves and come to Him with a contrite spirit. The will he�

Acts 15:9 (KJV) And put no difference between us and them, purifying their hearts by faith. You need to read the scripture before and after to put this into context, but my point here is that it is done by faith. Faith, Faith, Faith, etc.! Ok I have faith that my pickup will start when I turn the key� da-da-da- No, I mean faith that Jesus is our redeemer, that He died for our sins and was bruised for out afflictions, He arose again the third day, and ascended to set on the right of the Father in Heaven, and will return for those who are His (FAITHer�s) believers!


Today�s memory verse:

Psalms 62:6-8 (KJV) He only is my rock and my salvation: he is my defence; I shall not be moved. In God is my salvation and my glory: the rock of my strength, and my refuge, is in God. Trust in him at all times; ye people, pour out your heart before him: God is a refuge for us. Selah.

Ulterior thought:

The scriptures tell us that we should be thankful no matter what the circumstance is and at all times. When I look into a mirror I think to my self, � Self, how can I be thankful and happy when I look at my image and see all of that fat, hair hanging from my nose and ears not on the top of my head where it belongs� what can I be thankful for?� At that point the still small voice comes up ringing in my ears� �You still have good eye-sight!�


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com