Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

IDLE MENTION!

Wednesday, Jun. 20, 2007 - 8:08 p.m.

I am sure that you have done this many times in your life� That is, said something while not really meaning what you are saying. If you are, and I assume you are, reading this you have gotten by with it. I know that I have gotten by with it. That doesn�t mean that I will or you for that matter will always sneak by. The truth be told you really never really got away with telling the (little white) lie. We just repented of it and the Lord forgave us but the penalty was paid for that sin. We should really do as James tells us.

James 5:12 (KJV) "But above all things, my brethren, swear not, neither by heaven, neither by the earth, neither by any other oath: but let your yea be yea; and your nay, nay; lest ye fall into condemnation.

The dangerous thing that can happen is if you flippantly retort something to the Lord� a half meaning promise. Like, �if you get me out of this mess I will�� Then after you say that you the mess clears up and you say, �never mind Lord, it is already taken care of!� You can get into deep doo-doo doing things like that. But even worse if you vow it to Him earnestly and then don�t follow through with it. The Ananias and his wife in Acts 5 suffered the results of that� they should have been privy to the scripture.

Ecclesiastes 5:2-5 Be not rash with thy mouth, and let not thine heart be hasty to utter any thing before God: for God is in heaven, and thou upon earth: therefore let thy words be few. For a dream cometh through the multitude of business; and a fool�s voice is known by multitude of words. When thou vowest a vow unto God, defer not to pay it; for he hath no pleasure in fools: pay that which thou hast vowed. Better is it that thou shouldest not vow, than that thou shouldest vow and not pay.

The same is true when you are dealing with those who are under your supervision. You should never threaten to do something to them that you can not comply with (either legally or physically). You should never promise something to them unless it is a fixed deal. In other words be honest in everything you do and say. Also communicate your true feelings of your assessment of their efforts. Encourage them when ever possible. To do this you have to look for something that is being done correctly and in order. If you cut your help and or children off at the knees, figuratively speaking, they will grow to dislike or even hate you! If they feel that way about you � you will not be able to train them up the way you need to!

When things get tense� step back a moment and take a bigger picture of what the situation is. Ask the Lord to open your eyes and give you wisdom to manage the problem. Then step back in and do what the Lord leads you to do. You will find it amazing how things will flow more smoothly after you have done this.

Then don�t forget! Give all the Praise and thanks to the Lord!

Today�s memory verse:

Proverbs 1:23 (Amp) If you will turn (repent) and give heed to my reproof, behold, I [Wisdom] will pour out my spirit upon you, I will make my words known to you.

Ulterior thought:

Ok stay with me here! If we live today as if there is no tomorrow � then the accomplishments of yesterday, tomorrow was a waste of time! What about the day before today? Was it also a loss?


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com