Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

MIGHTY PERSON OF VALOR!

Thursday, Jun. 14, 2007 - 5:22 p.m.

Man of valor or �chicken at heart?�

Judges 6:12-16 (KJV) And the angel of the LORD appeared unto him, and said unto him, The LORD is with thee, thou mighty man of valour. And Gideon said unto him, Oh my Lord, if the LORD be with us, why then is all this befallen us? and where be all his miracles which our fathers told us of, saying, Did not the LORD bring us up from Egypt? but now the LORD hath forsaken us, and delivered us into the hands of the Midianites. And the LORD looked upon him, and said, Go in this thy might, and thou shalt save Israel from the hand of the Midianites: have not I sent thee? And he said unto him, Oh my Lord, wherewith shall I save Israel? behold, my family is poor in Manasseh, and I am the least in my father�s house. And the LORD said unto him, Surely I will be with thee, and thou shalt smite the Midianites as one man.

What does it take to be used of God in His service? Does it take a Person of mighty valor? In Judges we see where an angel called Gideon a �Mighty Man of Valor.� Yet here he was cowered away from the sight of the Midianites who were bulldogging the whole nation. He was working hard in adverse conditions trying to thrash grain for his family. He was doing this in a hidden area out of the sight of the bullies� His work ethic was good. Thrashing grain is a laborious job when you do it with the tools of that age. He was building up a sweat and the chaff from the grain had to be sticking to his body� there was no breeze to blow the chaff away and to cool him. I am sure if I were him I would probably react the same way he did when the angel called him a mighty man of valor.

Even after he made his �Intellectual-Donkey� remarks back to the angel the Lord used him to deliver Israel from the Midianites!

It seems that the Lord does this a lot of times� that is uses the least likely person, the seemingly weakest person to accomplish something in his favor.

He used Moses who was a murderer, and had a severe speech impediment to lead the entire nation of Israel for forty years through a desert.

Then he took David, the lease likely son of Jesse and used him to kill the giant who had the Israelites perplexed and then later made him king.

The same seems to be true in our modern culture� I have seen persons who seem the least likely become strong ministers for the Lord. I have also seen persons who start out that way and as they become strong in the Lord their ministry seems to dwindle. While meditating on this scenario this morning I felt the Lord was showing me something. I believe He was telling me that we become over confident in our position and move out ahead of the Lords leading. I have felt this happen in my own life.

When the vision came to me� back several years ago� The Lord said that He had called me to be a minister. I answered somewhat like Gideon did saying, �but I don�t have the proper education and�.� He replied that the time is short and you are needed. Then I said, �Ok Lord I will do it but you must put the words in my mouth and lead all of my actions!� (Approximate words� same meaning) Anyway, the Lord was able to do great things through me until I started to get (so to speak) my own feet on the ground. After that happened, I started to see the results decrease to nothing over a short period of time. My human element started to reflect more than my spiritual man. And yes there were many nicks and bruises to the human self-esteem and to my spiritual wellbeing.

I believe that Lord is now teaching me and in the process of restoring me to the state of being a pleasure to Him and His sight. He has shown me great Love� way beyond my understanding.

I truly Praise the Lord with all I can�!


Today�s memory verse:

Exodus 19:5 (KJV) Now therefore, if ye will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then ye shall be a peculiar treasure unto me above all people: for all the earth is mine:

Ulterior thought:

Human radar: The shinbone and toes are the bleeping factors that find furniture and doors in the dark!

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com