Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

GODS GRACE!

Tuesday, Jun. 12, 2007 - 12:58 a.m.

The words of the late General Douglas MacArthur said more than 60 years ago shows incredible insite: �In this day of gathering storms, as moral deterioration of political power spreads its growing infection, it is essential that every spiritual force be mobilized to defend and preserve the religious base upon which this nation is founded; for it has been that base which has been the motivating impulse to our moral and national growth. History fails to record a single precedent in which nations subject to moral decay have not passed into political and economic decline. There has been either a spiritual reawakening to overcome the moral lapse, or a progressive deterioration leading to ultimate national disaster.� This insight is quite provocative as it shows great truth and is comparable to Israel in the time of the Judges. The twelve tribes did not follow the instruction of God completely� only partially, it ended up costing them over and over again.

Judges 2:1 - 3 (KJV) 1And an angel of the LORD came up from Gilgal to Bochim, and said, I made you to go up out of Egypt, and have brought you unto the land which I sware unto your fathers; and I said, I will never break my covenant with you. 2And ye shall make no league with the inhabitants of this land; ye shall throw down their altars: but ye have not obeyed my voice: why have ye done this? 3Wherefore I also said, I will not drive them out from before you; but they shall be as thorns in your sides, and their gods shall be a snare unto you. .


It seems that the children of Israel continued in a cycle of blessings to judgments back to blessings again, only to repeat the same cycle again� You might say that the cycle went like this� starting with the nation serving God, doing evil, Forsaking God, following own way (pleasure), being sold into slavery (depression and war), slavery, servitude, crying out to God, turning to God, repenting, Judges raised up, being delivered, the nation serving God again and then continuing the cycle� over and over again� .


The amazing part of all of this is that God would keep his promises and continue to bring them back and give them another chance. .


You know that He loves us so much it is really unbelievable to what extent� but he keeps accepting our requests for forgiveness and taking us back into the fold! We limit our blessings by not accepting them from Him! The greatest blessing man has ever had from God is to be in his presence. He has made that presence available to and has told us in His Holy Word how to get there and even gave us a part of His God Head� namely the Holy Spirit to teach us and guide us in that direction. I am not talking about going to heaven� I am talking about being in His presence right here now on this earth. I will never forget how blessed and great it felt to be in His presence and feel the power of the Holy Spirit moving in a mighty way. I know that great feeling� I understand what the critics were saying about the day of Pentecost, wondering if they were all drunk. I do know that if being in His presence like that through out eternity that I could not be in this physical form of a body� I would definitely need the transformed body that will be given to at the time we come fully into His presence and see Him Face to face..


I see how this dialogue could go on and on, I�ll cut it short here.

Today�s memory verse:.


Proverbs 16:20 (KJV) 20He that handleth a matter wisely shall find good: and whoso trusteth in the LORD, happy is he..


Ulterior thought:.


The reason Grand parents and Grand babies get along together so well is that they both have the same adversary!

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!


previous - next - 3 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com