Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

THE REDEEMED OF THE LORD:

Sunday, Jun. 10, 2007 - 10:45 p.m.

Isaiah 51:11 (KJV) Therefore the redeemed of the LORD shall return, and come with singing unto Zion; and everlasting joy shall be upon their head: they shall obtain gladness and joy; and sorrow and mourning shall flee away.

This verse is the lyrics of a song we used to sing� when ever I read in Isaiah 51, it brings back memories of singing that song. There is really no better way to sing praises to the Lord than by singing His Word back to Him. That is with a sense of earnest! I know when our kids were learning to talk we really enjoyed when they would say things back to us that they heard us say. I am sure God the Father smiles also when we say things that He has told to us.


Isaiah 58:10 (KJV) And if thou draw out thy soul to the hungry, and satisfy the afflicted soul; then shall thy light rise in obscurity, and thy darkness be as the noonday:

King James alludes to the results of feeding the hungry� I take that as meaning spiritually as well as physically. I see that the New Century puts more of a legalistic spin on their interpretation. I can�t say that I agree with that concept� anyway as of yet. (Never say ever!)

Isaiah 58:10 (ICB) You should feed those who are hungry. You should take care of the needs of those who are troubled. Then your light will shine in the darkness. And you will be bright like sunshine at noon.

Then there is the saying, �what goes around comes around!� How many times in our lives has someone made a value judgment about something you did or said? Then before finding out what the meaning of the event meant, shot off their thoughts to others but still faced you with a smile on their face as if nothing happened? Well I know first hand both ends of that scenario. In the case of it happening to me, the result was quite devastating. In the case where I had done it to the other person or persons, I was the one who turned out to be the fool. Moral of that story is that it is a lose, lose situation. This happens in business dealings as well as in marriage situations. But let us not forget the Body of Christ� the Church. Sometimes it seems that dealing with �Christians� can be more destructive than with non believers. The degree of integrity seems higher with the non believer at times. Part of that might be because they believe that they will go to Heaven because they are a good person.

Proverbs 10:18 (KJV) He that hideth hatred with lying lips, and he that uttereth a slander, is a fool.

I am not quite sure where the Century version came up with their understanding of this verse� but, I like it! It is definitely good advise!

Proverbs 10:19 (ICB) If you talk a lot, you are sure to sin. If you are wise, you will keep quiet.


Memory Verse for today:

2 Peter 3:9 (KJV) 9The Lord is not slack concerning his promise, as some men count slackness; but is longsuffering to us-ward, not willing that any should perish, but that all should come to repentance.

2 Peter 3:9 (ICB) 9The Lord is not slow in doing what he promised�the way some people understand slowness. But God is being patient with you. He does not want anyone to be lost. He wants everyone to change his heart and life.

Ulterior thought:

Wise ole indian told me once, �no job is so important that you can�t take time to do it right the first time! It saves time!�


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com