Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

ANSWERED PRAYER:

Saturday, Jun. 09, 2007 - 3:38 p.m.

When I was a child, going to church was not an option� I was born on a Monday and the following Sunday I went to church and every time the church door swung open I was either going or coming out! That is until I was older and got a job that I had to work during church time. Anyway I remember that on Sunday nights we had what they called testimony time. Someone would stand up and testify about something the Lord did for them the week before and then maybe we would sing a praise song and then someone else would testify. The service would continue in this manner followed by a prayer request time when people would verbalize their need or something that was bothering them. Sometimes a person would say, �I have an unspoken request!� I knew that their request was something that was weighing heavy or their minds and was no-one�s business other than theirs and the Lord�s. I kind of wonder that if more of the requests should not have been unspoken, but then that is a different story.

A few weeks ago a friend of mine asked me to pray for an unspoken request that I agree with them in prayer for the matter. Well today talking to that friend, I was informed that the situation was answered just the way we had prayed and that they were really amazed because of the outcome. Then the next remark was, �I should not have been so surprised� I know that we prayed that way and that God does answer!� This is my point of this whole dialogue� We pray to God and then are surprised when he answers� The reason we ask in prayer is because we know he will answer� We should not be surprised. We should, however, give Him Praise and Thanksgiving for what He has done. Sometimes I find it necessary to give Him Thanks before the answer because sometimes I don�t find out about the answer until it is longtime passed and forgotten. I sometimes think that maybe we ought to do that in every prayer. We know He answers every prayer. I believe that when we don�t feel like He has answered the prayer that He really has but we don�t see or feel it. There is a volume of understanding that should be considered in that area before a mind-set is applied.

Anyway, Praise the Lord for everything He has done!


Memory verse for today: (Two different versions: King James and New Century)

Psalms 40:4 (KJV) Blessed is that man that maketh the LORD his trust, and respecteth not the proud, nor such as turn aside to lies.

Psalms 40:4 (ICB) Happy is the person who trusts the Lord. He doesn�t turn to those who are proud, to those who worship false gods.

Ulterior thought:

Everyone thinks you are smart until you say something that proves different! Moral: Keep looking up but keep your mouth shut!

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 3 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com