Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

WORKS:

Wednesday, May. 16, 2007 - 4:02 p.m.

Doing a word search on the word, �Works� in the New Testament, I found it to be translated in the KJV from three different Greek words. Each with slightly different meanings. Below you will find examples of each of the three words in the book of Matthew. Following the example is the Greek word and its meaning and the Strong�s number assigned to each word. You can look up the numbers in your Strong�s Exhaustive Concordance and Dictionary.

(Matthew 13:57,58 KJV) And they were offended in him. But Jesus said unto them, A prophet is not without honour, save in his own country, and in his own house. And he did not many mighty works there because of their unbelief.
(G1411, Dunamis: miraculous power - usually implies a miracle itself)

If you do a word search yourself I believe you will find the Greek word Dunamis is generally referring to great miracles at the hands of the Almighty God.

(Matthew 16:27 KJV) For the Son of man shall come in the glory of his Father with his angels; and then he shall reward every man according to his works.
(G4434, praxis: function, deed, office�)

The Greek word is only listed six times in the New Testament, the example here is the only time praxis is translated as works. The other times it is translated as deed, deeds, or office.

(Matthew 5:16 KJV) Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven.
(G2041, ergon: an act:--deed, doing, labour, work.)

176 times the Greek word ergon is found in the New Testament. I didn�t go through all 176 but I did cover a bunch of them. What I could determine, from my said excursion, is that works or good deeds are not a road to salvation (not the key to Heaven). However, we are to be judged for all of our deeds/works in the final judgment. The bad deeds/works that we have done and have repented of, are washed by the precious Blood of Jesus and will not be remembered nor will we be made accountable for them. I also concluded that all deeds done, (good or bad in our own minds) out side of body of Christ; that is before we are born again in the Spirit; are counted as bad deeds. In other words if I have not accepted Jesus as my Savior and have not asked him to enter my heart, to wash my sins away; everything I do is in vain. If I am born again then the things I do that are pleasing to the Lord are counted toward my rewards which are stored in here after.

Jesus talking to the multitude:
(Mat 23:2-7 KJV) Saying, �The scribes and the Pharisees sit in Moses' seat: All therefore whatsoever they bid you observe, that observe and do; but do not ye after their works: for they say, and do not. For they bind heavy burdens and grievous to be borne, and lay them on men's shoulders; but they themselves will not move them with one of their fingers. But all their works they do for to be seen of men: they make broad their phylacteries, and enlarge the borders of their garments, And love the uppermost rooms at feasts, and the chief seats in the synagogues, And greetings in the markets, and to be called of men, Rabbi, Rabbi.�

This is an example of people who will say, �Lord, Lord I have cast out demons in your name�� To which comments Jesus will say, �Depart from me�� It appears that there will be people teaching about Jesus� good words� who really do not know Him. They are teaching head knowledge parroting back what they have been taught, but never making the decision themselves.

(Ephesians 2:8-10 KJV) For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works,(ergon) lest any man should boast. For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works,(ergon), which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.

Workmanship: G4161. poiema, poy'-ay-mah; from G4160; a product, i.e. fabric (lit. or fig.):--thing that is made, workmanship.

Walk: G4043. peripateo, per-ee-pat-eh'-o; to tread all around, i.e. walk at large (especially as proof of ability); to live, deport oneself, follow (as a companion or votary):--go, be occupied with, walk (about).

From this is surmise that the only work we are to do is to believe in Him, accept him, and there after walk in that belief. Note that the word believe and Faith mean the same thing.

Today�s memory verse:

(John 14:26 KJV) But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.


May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!

previous - next - 3 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com