Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

WHAT WE SAY!

Saturday, Apr. 14, 2007 - 12:07 a.m.

It is strongly believed by many Christians that we do not have power in our own words. That we only put our frame of mind into whatever we are thinking and that if the forces (or what ever you want to call it) fit the situation that these things just take place. I grew up thinking that way because it was what I was taught. But, on the other hand I also knew on my inside that if I had anything negative going through my mind that it would happen. For instance: I bought a car when I was about 15 years old. I couldn�t afford insurance on the car and I couldn�t afford to put new tires on it either. Most of my money went for gas and oil. Consequently I drove around on what we jokingly called racing slicks. Now I had a heavy foot and it seemed to touch the floor boards of the car all most everywhere I went� of course keeping a close eye peeled for the local law enforcement. When my tires would wear down to the threads of the inner tire or the tube started to show, it was time to get a new tire. I would go to the station with the most tires and buy a second or third hand tire for four or five bucks and usually it only showed that the tire had at one time some type of tread� now and then I was blessed with a little tread� I said all of that to get to this point. I always had a bunch of buddies riding with me and I found out that if they would say something like, �Boy I hope we don�t have a flat tire!� we were doomed to get a flat while they were in the car with me. So I started to kick anyone out of the car if they said anything negative like that� At first they thought I was kidding but, soon they got the message and either quit saying anything negative around me or moved on to other friends. From that point on I was not plagued with flat tires. I still ran with the used or reused tires and just as fast as before.

I know that the Angel that the Lord assigned to my station was a very energetic Angel. I am also convinced that He commanded a competent staff. I also learned that if I would say, �I would never do� (Whatever I was talking about)� that I would find my self doing just what I said I would never do.

For the past few years I have wondered just how much what we say does change our direction or the things happening around us. Some people would say that thinking that way is superstition. I for one do not believe that I am superstitious about anything. I believe also that the Lord has a plan for each and every one of us and He will allow things to happen around us to get us in the place to do His plan and for His Glory! While meditating on this thought and while in prayer, it came to me that there is some validity to thinking this way.

I get a check in my spirit sometimes when I am singing some songs and or listening to spiritual singers sings certain songs. The songs might be right on but the meaning they are sending to my spirit is in conflict with what the Holy Spirit has taught me. The song �Come Holy Spirit� is one of these songs. My spirit will say, �The Holy Spirit is already here we just need to listen to Him!� Another song is the song we used to sing in some of our groups� �Father I adore you.� The next verse lifts up Jesus, the Son of God. I have no problem singing to this point but the next verse lifts up the Holy Spirit. The Holy Spirit is sent to teach us of Jesus and to comfort us, etal. But never to take any glory on Him Self.

Anyway back to the words we say. Since the Holy Spirit is present in us at all times and the Lord knows everything we say before we say it� every thought, every thing we say is acknowledged by God our Father and His Son Jesus. Now I ask you� is that not the same as praying. When we say things we are putting in a request to the Lord. Many times we ask for things that are not compatible to our well being. The Lord many times gives it to us anyway. How else are we to learn to trust in him and not ask for things we should not have.

Is it not reasonable that since He is with us all the time and listening to all of our thought and utterances that our words do have power to change things?

May You Be Blessed by the Holy Spirit to Overflowing!

Bye for Now!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com