Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

BALAAM!

Thursday, Feb. 22, 2007 - 5:43 p.m.


Christ Jesus says in:
Revelation 2:12 And to the angel of the church in Pergamos write; � 14 But I have a few things against thee, because thou hast there them that hold the doctrine of Balaam, who taught Balac to cast a stumblingblock before the children of Israel, to eat things sacrificed unto idols, and to commit fornication� which thing I hate. 16 Repent; or else I will come unto thee quickly, and will fight against them with the sword of my mouth.
17 He that hath an ear, let him hear what the Spirit saith unto the churches; To him that overcometh will I give to eat of the hidden manna, and will give him a white stone, and in the stone a new name written, which no man knoweth saving he that receiveth it.

Jude 11 Woe unto them! for they have gone in the way of Cain, and ran greedily after the error of Balaam for reward, and perished in the gainsaying of Core.

Could the things that Christ had against the church in Pergamos be some of the things happening in many of our churches today? The reason I question this is that Ballam seemed to be drumming up funds for himself for his connection to the Almighty. �Send in your money to keep us on the air!� type thing. I do believe that we should support the cause of Christ. But not just for our own growth. He can support any ministry He wants to without our measly donations. But our growth comes in where we are trusting Him to direct us on how much and to whom to donate. The side benefit of that is that it is returned to us. Sometimes here on earth and other times in the hereafter. You can build up riches here on earth if you so desire. But it won�t buy you anything past your time on this planet. But you can build up riches for the hereafter. You can use that for ever. Anyway there are several thoughts that come from reading about Balaam and his talking donkey. Every time I read it again I get something different from it. This is just one of the many that surfaced while doing thing this entry.

Bless y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to overflowing!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com