Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

OFF YOUR DONKEY AND DO SOMETHING!

Wednesday, Feb. 14, 2007 - 12:11 a.m.


Proverbs 14:4 Where no oxen are, the crib (STALL) is clean: but much increase is by the strength of the ox.

I believe that in today�s terms we would say something like this: �If you expect to make a living you must get your hands dirty!� Or maybe something like: �you have to put work into it to get anything out of it!� Why are so many people today expecting everyone else to take care of them. They are too lazy to get a job. They are more apt to set around and complain and draw funds from the Government or beg from others around them. I am not thinking of anyone in particular but I am speaking more of the group of people who fall into this category. And I am not referring to the persons who honestly try and just don�t have the where-with-all to pull it off. I am talking about the ones who just don�t try or try hard enough and give up if they ever did try.

I am not trying to be critical of these people, my question is more: why are these people like this? I sure don�t have the answer to that. Maybe it is too complex for my mind to comprehend. I have always wondered why the Children of Israel were complaining so much after they had just been freed from bondage in a miraculous way. is the main reason for that because they were always trying to do things their own way and not seek the will of God. When things didn�t work out their way they complained. Obviously this did not please God.

Moses sent out twelve men to spy out the promise land. When they returned they said that the land was truly a land of milk and honey� This is what the Lord had promised them. They gave their report and said that they were afraid to try to conquer the land because of the giants who were in possession of the land. That is all but one of the spies said that. Caleb, the only one who trusted that the Lord would be with them, wanted to charge in and possess the land. The rest of the crew, the naysayers, told stories to the Children of Israel, which filled them with fear. The people began to murmur. They made irrational statements like they wished that they had never been taken on the trip and that they were just lead to the desert so that their wives and children would die.

To make a long story short� all the adults who were numbered, age 20 and up, except Caleb, ended up not going into the promise land. Their wives and children all made it in.

There is so much to this story� I hate to stop now� but I must.

Blessing to y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to over flowing!

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com