Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

Emotions?

Wednesday, Jan. 31, 2007 - 11:48 p.m.

My studies the past couple of days had me wondering why the people who were following Jesus the few weeks prior to the Cross had a hard time accepting the fact that He was not in the Tomb that Sunday morning. This included the Disciples.

Then meditating on this for a while I came up with the thought that these people were deeply in love with Christ. They went through such a horrific experience that I am sure that it left a huge scar on their emotions. I know I have had some experiences in the past that left me not thinking clearly for quite a while after. The experiences I had would not even hold a candle to the one that the disciples and the other followers went through.

Can you just imagine the person you love the most; in front of you being beaten to a pulp, having his beard ripped out of his face, having saliva, urine, feces tossed on him. A crown of thorns shoved down on his head, his clothes torn off of him, and then nails driven through his hands into a wooden cross, which was�. Anyway you know the story. I believe that I would have a tendency to forget the things he told us before this happened. At least for a while.

One of the most important things he said that still holds true to us today is recorded by Dr. Luke: Luke24: 25 Then He said unto them, O fools, and slow of heart to believe all that the prophets have spoken: 26 Ought not Christ to have suffered these things, and to enter into his glory? Christ expected them to know what the prophets had taught and is written in the scriptures. We should still follow that example to day.

If you do your homework you will discover that every thing of importance in the New Testament is shadowed or referred to in the Old Testament. Most things you will find referenced in more that two or three places in the Old. Matthew 18: 16 But if he will not hear thee, then take with thee one or two more, that in the mouth of two or three witnesses every word may be established. The test of the �two or three witnesses was the custom that dated clear back to Deuteronomy 17:6 At the mouth of two witnesses, or three witnesses, shall he that is worthy of death be put to death; but at the mouth of one witness he shall not be put to death. It is too bad that we don�t have the same type of test for convictions these days� Just a thought� Anyway!

Blessings to y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to overflowing!


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com