Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

ZACCHAEUS

Tuesday, Jan. 23, 2007 - 12:26 a.m.

ZACCHAEUS;

We used to sing a song as youngsters� I am sure the youth still sing it in Sunday school.

�Zacchaes was a wee little man,
A wee little man was he�
He climbed up in a sycamore tree,
For the Savior�s face to see��

That is a neat little ditty from Luke 19. It is interesting to note that the name of this little man means �pure!� I suppose that got him a lot of ribbing from the guys growing up, and since he was small in stature, I am sure that added to the insults. It is no wonder why he chose that profession, collecting taxes� I can just hear his mind going when he landed that job� �Well, I get the last laugh of the guys that used to rib me�� Being a publican, or tax collector was not considered a favorable position by the main populous. They were more or less thugs with a legal license to rip off the public.

As it turns out, ole Zacc. had a good side to him and wanted to see the Lord as He passed through the area on his way to Jerusalem. But because his view would be blocked by the �press,� (many people also waiting to see the Lord), he took advantage of a tree that was on the route.

We all know the rest of the story. Jesus called him down from his perch and invited Himself to the house of Zacchaeus. This really thrilled Zacchaeus and he had a change of heart. He gave half of all his possessions to the poor and paid anyone he ripped off back four times what he took from them.

I think it is interesting that today the Press still tries to keep us from seeing the Lord Jesus Christ. The Press will put down anything they can about Jesus. Unless they can make it look to the listeners as foolish. That is usually by them taking things out of context, or by pasteing and cutting to say something different to change the meaning.

I know that this is a play on words but it is still the truth.

Blessings to y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to overflowing!

References:

�Luke 19:1 And Jesus entered and passed through Jericho. 2 And, behold, there was a man named Zacchaeus, which was the chief among the publicans, and he was rich. 3 And he sought to see Jesus who he was; and could not for the press, because he was little of stature. 4 And he ran before, and climbed up into a sycamore tree to see him: for he was to pass that way. 5 And when Jesus came to the place, he looked up, and saw him, and said unto him, Zacchaeus, make haste, and come down; for to day I must abide at thy house. 6 And he made haste, and came down, and received him joyfully. 7 And when they saw it, they all murmured, saying, That he was gone to be guest with a man that is a sinner. 8 And Zacchaeus stood, and said unto the Lord; Behold, Lord, the half of my goods I give to the poor; and if I have taken any thing from any man by false accusation, I restore him fourfold. 9 And Jesus said unto him, This day is salvation come to this house, forsomuch as he also is a son of Abraham. 10 For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost. 11 And as they heard these things, he added and spake a parable, because he was nigh to Jerusalem, and because they thought that the kingdom of God should immediately appear.
12 He said therefore, A certain nobleman went into a far country to receive for himself a kingdom, and to return. 13 And he called his ten servants, and delivered them ten pounds, and said unto them, Occupy till I come.�


previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com