Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

MY VOICE

Thursday, Jan. 18, 2007 - 10:02 p.m.

MY VOICE

I have heard many Christians say, �The Lord Said.� Or �The Lord told me�� and then I have heard other people say, �how did he talk to you?� They wondered if it was an audible voice or just how. The usual answer given is, �... a still small voice!�

I know that when I talk to someone who has known me for a long time on the phone, I don�t have to tell them who I am� they recognize my voice. In John 10:27, Jesus says that his sheep know his voice. He continues on in verse 29 saying that nobody can pluck his sheep out of his hands. This is really a great comfort.

Since there are those who ask the question, �How do you hear His voice?� Tells me that the person asking has never heard the voice of the Lord, or didn�t recognize it. I believe that anyone who has read the New Testament knows that Jesus is referred to as the Good Shepherd and that those who are his disciples are His sheep. I hope that includes you and I know it includes me.

I have heard his voice from time to time myself. I am sure, though, that I have missed hearing his voice from time to time also. The flesh seems to have a habit of shutting out what the still small voice is saying inside from time to time.

Verse 27 also says that His sheep follow Him. This brings up an extension to this topic. This could branch in many directions, but how do you know you are His sheep�?
In Mark 16:15-18, Jesus tells His sheep what to do after He leaves to prepare a place for us. Verse 17 tells us what signs will follow those who believe and are baptized. These signs include casting out devils, speaking with new tongues, taking up serpents, protection from being poisoned, and laying hands on the sick and they recover.

Now I don�t think every sign will follow each person, but I do think that every person who is a true believer will show fruits of some or these signs. The Holy Spirit, which is part of the Godhead, was sent to us to teach us about Jesus and assist us with the signs following.

As you can see� this can go on and on� there is so much to learn and so little time to learn it in. But the Holy Spirit can bring to you what is needed at the time it is needed. Only be sincere in your endeavor and desire to know Jesus, to know his voice, to know to follow him, and�

Blessings to y�all
Be ye filled with the Holy Spirit to overflowing!

~~~~~

References:
All King James Version.

�Mark 16: 15 And he said unto them, Go ye into all the world, and preach the gospel to every creature.
16 He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.
17 And these signs shall follow them that believe; In my name shall they cast out devils; they shall speak with new tongues;
18 They shall take up serpents; and if they drink any deadly thing, it shall not hurt them; they shall lay hands on the sick, and they shall recover.�

�Matthew 28: 18 And Jesus came and spake unto them, saying, All power is given unto me in heaven and in earth. 19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost: 20 Teaching them to observe all things whatsoever I have commanded you: and, lo, I am with you alway, even unto the end of the world. Amen.�

�Luke 24: 46 And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day: 47 And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. 48 And ye are witnesses of these things. 49 And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.�

�John 10: 25 Jesus answered them, I told you, and ye believed not: the works that I do in my Father's name, they bear witness of me. 26 But ye believe not, because ye are not of my sheep, as I said unto you. 27 My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. 29 My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father's hand. 30 I and my Father are one. 31 Then the Jews took up stones again to stone him. 32 Jesus answered them, Many good works have I showed you from my Father; for which of those works do ye stone me?�

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com