Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

JOTS FROM OLD JAKE

Diet 2007

Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2007 - 4:40 p.m.

The year of 2006 played havoc on my system� You know, the temple of the Holy Spirit. What I should really say is I let my self go to the tune of gaining 19 excess pounds. The first day of the year 2006 the scale told me that I weighed 210 pounds, which was the lowest weight I have been since some time back in the 1960�s. I got down to 200 pounds once in 1969 for a brief period. I really don�t count that time as a valid likeness of me. At the time I was with out a job and home. I sold soap door to door to get money to buy gas to go to job interviews. Once I was back on my feet and working full time� my weight bounced back to what I felt was a comfortable area� in the mid 220�s. The weight I was at prior to the brief time. Anyway the first day of this year I hit the scale of 229. Nineteen pounds of excess baggage� one would think that the extra weight should be good for building up strength� but we of course know that is a lie we tell ourselves, or is it wishful thinking?

Making a long story short� I am trying to get down under 190 pounds. The thought came to me� does the Bible say anything about such matters. The following is what I came up with.

Proverbs 23: 7 For as he thinketh in his heart, so is he: Eat and drink, saith he to thee; but his heart is not with thee.
8 The morsel which thou hast eaten shalt thou vomit up, and lose thy sweet words.
9 Speak not in the ears of a fool: for he will despise the wisdom of thy words.(KJV)

If you start thinking that things are going bad and that you are hurting� and you start speaking like that� you are in agreement with the devil.
NOTE: what you are saying out loud is what you OWN! You are purchasing the title to it by your thoughts and completing the transaction by saying it.

But if you go to Psalms 103 and write that in your heart� you are making an agreement with the word of god.
Psalms 103:1 � Bless the LORD, O my soul: and all that is within me, bless his holy name. 2 Bless the LORD, O my soul, and forget not all his benefits: 3 Who forgiveth all thine iniquities; who healeth all thy diseases;
4 Who redeemeth thy life from destruction; who crowneth thee with lovingkindness and tender mercies; 5 Who satisfieth thy mouth with good things; so that thy youth is renewed like the eagle's.

Now, am I eating junk food?

Isaiah 55: 2 Why spend your money on something that is not real food? Why work for something that doesn�t really satisfy you? Listen closely to me, and you will eat what is good; your soul will enjoy the rich food that satisfies.
3 Come to me and listen; listen to me so you may live. I will make an agreement with you that will last forever. I will give you the blessings I promised to David. (NCV)

Proverbs 23: 1When dining with a ruler, pay attention to what is put before you. 2If you are a big eater, put a knife to your throat, 3and don�t desire all the delicacies� (NLT)

What is my modus operandi?

Psalms 13:25 (paraphrased) The Godly eats to live: but the wicked lives to eat! That might be a stretch on words but, it is a good way to think about it.

I guess in summation I would conclude what I have really known all along� that I need to watch what goes into my mouth as well what comes out of it. Start looking to my Lord and Savior for his assistance in purging the negative stuff out of my mind. Place the purpose in my heart to live for Jesus and to seek His face. Find my strength via my joy in Him!

Blessings to Ya�ll

previous - next - 0 comments so far

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com